PDA

View Full Version : Enough about Ceramic Coating the hull...

agarabaghi
10-22-2018, 08:56 AM
Lets talk about coating the vinyl to protect it from stains and dye transfers.

As we all know Hulls are not only easy to clean, but also easy to restore if things go south. Vinyl on the other hand is always the biggest issue for old and new boats it seems.

Bugs, Bird droppings, cheetos, ink, dye transfer can all cause headaches!

haha doesn't this sound like an ad?

Anyway i got my 2019 not mastercraft 22 and decided since the seats were in perfect condition, i would try some leather coatings that are widely used in the automotive world.

For my vehicles and boats i used Gyeon products (Primer, Prep, CanCoat) so i wanted to try their leather sealants. I contact Gyeon and ask what they recommended. They suggest to use LeatherCoat over LeatherShield.

LeatherCoat is more like a 303 in that it is white liquid, but said to last 3 months with 1 hour of curing time.

LeatherSeal is a semi-permanent coating for leather, but Gyeon was unsure if it would bond to boat vinyl.

I also looked at CarPro Leather sealant and it specifically says vinyl.

I used Gyeon Leather Cleaner to remove any dirt / residue on the vinyl, then applied both products on 2 separate cushions.

Here are the results:

CarPro leather sealant:
https://i.imgur.com/jsr5FV7h.jpg

Gyeon LeatherCoat:
https://i.imgur.com/M7TDK0Gh.jpg

Pretty obvious what happened there, CarPro Like Gyeon suggested about their LeatherShield product did not bond with the vinyl and there was i believe will not protect it.

Gyeon on the other hand ... look at those beads! It has created a clear layer between the vinyl and whatever contaminants my come in contact with my seats! This should make clean up very easy.

MC25
10-22-2018, 09:28 AM
That’s pretty sweet. Wonder how it would do on the coolfeel.

agarabaghi
10-22-2018, 09:40 AM
should work the same on all vinyls

CottagerGreg
10-22-2018, 10:21 AM