PDA

View Full Version : Possible MC Newbie here

aarvig
08-19-2018, 11:48 PM
Hey everyone. Possible MC newbie here. I have owned a bow rider for 5 years, bought it new, paid cash, love having a paid for boat.
Well, we are outgrowing it rapidly and the kids/extended family have been getting into tow sports. We also use our boat for shore cruising on Lake Superior (yes, that one) a couple of times a year if the near shore forecasts are good.
I found a good deal on a new XT 21. We all love it. We went for a test drive with the local dealer and he introduced us to surfing...much easier on this old dude than wake boarding. Anyway, I'm thinking of taking the plunge.
Questions:
Its a crap load of money. I'm gonna pay half cash, half finance. Probably going to do a 20 year loan so I have low payments in the event of a lean month but plan on paying it off in 7-10 years.
Does this sound reasonable or are most of you check writers for the full amount?

Is the XT21 a good shore cruising boat? I know it isn't a bow rider but will it still be enjoyable?

We trailer to a public access which drives me nuts but there is no other option. How do you guys prevent the inevitable dock damage putting your boats in and out of the water?

How has your experience been with the depreciation curve?

How has your experience been with long term maintenance?

LDA6339
08-20-2018, 12:34 AM
Welcome to the forum and possibly the family! First off, these hackers are not par for the course so bear with us on those guys.

Financing or not is a personal question only you can answer, there are older used MC boats you can find that would fit what you're ready to pay for with liquid cash that are still going to be great boats, especially if you only need it to surf well.

There are worse boats than the XT-21 for rough water, but definitely way better. It depends on how big the water is on your lake.

Bumpers and be careful is really all you can do. And practice.