PDA

View Full Version : 2010 or 2011 Medallion Perfect Pass


jgraham37128
06-09-2014, 05:06 PM
Ok, is there anyone who knows how to set up perfect pass on a 2010 or 2011 model? I've been in technology all of my adult life and have programed tons of things but this is by far the hardest thing I've ever tried to program. I can't figure any of it out and I have the book. The instructions are horrible and are not a step by step instructions.

Any help would be welcomed.Here's what I want to do. Set my boat up for surfing. I want to set up the speed and push a button. then I want to do the same thing for wake boarding and need to know how to go from one to the other.

A real big plus is how can I be going down the lake at 22mph as an example and press a button for it to hold this speed?

chopp
06-09-2014, 07:03 PM
have you got the BIG display

jgraham37128
06-10-2014, 07:39 AM
Yes I do. Completely factory no mods.

jgraham37128
06-10-2014, 07:41 AM
Here's a pic of mine.

chopp
06-10-2014, 05:57 PM
Ok great it's the same as mine. I will write up some instructions it's very easy to use.

jgraham37128
06-10-2014, 06:06 PM
Make me feel stupid, at this point I don't care. I just want to get it working and know how to do it.


Thanks,

JG

GoneBoatN
06-10-2014, 06:26 PM
I have an X-15 with BIG and here is my input. Basically, just forget about rider presets.

The problem is, while the ballast tanks do have gauges and the display will show the ballast tank levels correctly, they are filled to the preset level by running for a certain amount of time. So say you have the setting of 3.0 in the setting for how long it takes to fill the KGB tank. If in your rider preset you say you want the tank to be 50%, then the BIG will run the pump for .5 * 3.0. No indication in the manuals what that 3.0 value might be - I've assume it is maybe in minutes. Here is the issue. Your pump runs at different speeds depending upon the RPM the engine is running and the efficiency of the impeller varies as well. People are told that it is suggested to run the boat in neutral at 1500 RPM, but I don't recall if that is in the instructions. Also it will depend upon if you are moving (in gear) while running the ballast pump (due to flow over the inlet). It will also depend upon the efficiency of the impeller at the time. End result is that rider presets are not very accurate. It gets worse if switch between one preset and another without emptying as the incorrectness compounds.

So with the above being said, forget about "Rider presets". Just set the tank fill times to some realtively higher than necessary number and fill by hand. Stop filling when display shows take at the level you want it = simple. Now all that is left is rider speed. Simply engage the PP and use the up/down to change the speed.

The fun part is getting PP to work well given the ballast you run, the pull of the rider, etc. Read this thread as it may be of some help - http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=49216

A shame you are not close to me. I would just go out with you and show you how it works. Yep, the instructions (BIG) are not worth the paper they are written on. There was a software version update that was done on mine that made hints show up on the BIG screen as to what button to hit to do something. Hopefully you have that version as it made it much easier to use the BIG.

GoneBoatN
06-10-2014, 06:41 PM
Is this the manual you are referring to - http://www.mastercraft.com/assets/manual/11.pdf as horrible?

Some notes:
Page 14 show the ballast configuration I was referring to.
112752
Page 11 shows where you can change the speedometer calibration

jgraham37128
06-10-2014, 06:52 PM
Yes, that's the manual.

An example is how do you get it to change from rpm to mph? I could never get it to change.

jgraham37128
06-10-2014, 06:54 PM
Oh, and the ballast parts isn't really the big problem, the main problem is loading a rider that has been saved and then wanting to change the speed for the rider.

GoneBoatN
06-10-2014, 06:54 PM
112753

So given the above and not using "Rider Presets" -

1) while in the PP Screen (not rider presets aka List/Edit, but just the main PP screen), the cruise button will toggle PP on and off.
2) when you do not have PP on, the Enter button will toggle between RPM and Speed modes.
3) when you do have PP on, the +/- buttons will increase/decrease the Speed if in Speed mode and increase/decrease the RPM if in RPM mode.

Keep it simple and you will get along with BIG just fine.

FoggyNogginz
06-10-2014, 06:59 PM
Here's a pic of mine.

I'm gonna guess a location and say Mine Lick Creek??

GoneBoatN
06-10-2014, 07:01 PM
Yes, that's the manual.

An example is how do you get it to change from rpm to mph? I could never get it to change.

Just posted that for doing it manually. If you want to change it in a rider preset, look on page 11, second screen down on the left hand side shows where you change the option. Oh, BTW I don't think slalom will show up.

Again, different software versions had some different menus but a little play around and you should find it. Also, be warned that even when you call up a preset, pressing the enter button will toggle RPM/Speed so if you have someone not understanding the BIG driving, they can quickly get the settings incorrect by accident.

GoneBoatN
06-10-2014, 07:05 PM
Oh, and the ballast parts isn't really the big problem, the main problem is loading a rider that has been saved and then wanting to change the speed for the rider.

So one thing you can do, is in the rider presets only set the speed/rpm. Then when you do call up that preset, it will not attempt to fill/change the ballast. At least that is how mine worked.

For me, I just make it the responsibility of the rider to tell me what speed they want and I don't use the presets. Then again, I only have the center trim tab and that is the only other setting on my boat.

FoggyNogginz
06-10-2014, 07:06 PM
I have an X-15 with BIG and here is my input. Basically, just forget about rider presets.

End result is that rider presets are not very accurate. It gets worse if switch between one preset and another without emptying as the incorrectness compounds.



I COMPLETELY agree with this, and I never use the presets. Filling with timers is very unreliable on mine, and I never use the screen for this. I wish it worked better than it does, but technically I know that the timers are dependent upon suction rates of the entire system, which will change due to water temp, impeller, whether or not the flapper is completely sealed, which bag I filled first, whether or not I am running multiple pumps, etc.

Just my $0.02. To be honest, all that I ever use the screen for is the analog screen showing all of the gauges and for Perfect Pass.

Good luck.

GoneBoatN
06-10-2014, 07:07 PM
Speed for the rider is changed pretty easy. Have PP turned on, then use the +/-. If PP is not turned on then +/- do nothing (again how mine works...).

GoneBoatN
06-10-2014, 07:09 PM
Actually there is a cool/useful feature of the BIG. If the engine/EMC throws a code, you can display it on the BIG.

GoneBoatN
06-10-2014, 07:12 PM
Worse part is even after you learn it, trying to explain it to someone else. My wife was always totally frustrated with it. I would set it up before I entered the water and remind her how to turn it off/on and hope that she pressed no other button...

jgraham37128
06-10-2014, 07:14 PM
I'm gonna guess a location and say Mine Lick Creek??

Nope, right outside Hidden Harbor headed to the main channel.

jgraham37128
06-10-2014, 07:14 PM
Actually there is a cool/useful feature of the BIG. If the engine/EMC throws a code, you can display it on the BIG.

Post instructions on this too!

jgraham37128
06-10-2014, 07:17 PM
112753

So given the above and not using "Rider Presets" -

1) while in the PP Screen (not rider presets aka List/Edit, but just the main PP screen), the cruise button will toggle PP on and off.
2) when you do not have PP on, the Enter button will toggle between RPM and Speed modes.
3) when you do have PP on, the +/- buttons will increase/decrease the Speed if in Speed mode and increase/decrease the RPM if in RPM mode.

Keep it simple and you will get along with BIG just fine.

I sure hope it is this simple!

jgraham37128
06-10-2014, 07:20 PM
Again, all I care is being able to push a button and hold the speed and then able to speed up and slow down on the pad will be the bomb.

I really don't care about loading riders, I just thought that was the only way to do it.

GoneBoatN
06-10-2014, 07:58 PM
Again, all I care is being able to push a button and hold the speed and then able to speed up and slow down on the pad will be the bomb.

I really don't care about loading riders, I just thought that was the only way to do it.

Then you should be good to go. Welcome to the PP club! :D

jgraham37128
06-23-2014, 08:05 AM
112753

So given the above and not using "Rider Presets" -

1) while in the PP Screen (not rider presets aka List/Edit, but just the main PP screen), the cruise button will toggle PP on and off.
2) when you do not have PP on, the Enter button will toggle between RPM and Speed modes.
3) when you do have PP on, the +/- buttons will increase/decrease the Speed if in Speed mode and increase/decrease the RPM if in RPM mode.

Keep it simple and you will get along with BIG just fine.



After two years I can finally say I know how to work perfect pass thanks to GoneBoatn! We used it all day yesterday, I was teaching my wife how to use it yesterday, who started out saying she didn't like it, but by the end of the day she decided she did like it.


Thanks for the help.

Portbigcity
05-26-2015, 11:20 AM
So I am having trouble with additional ballast in my X15 holding surf speed with PP. Is there a way on the medallion system to change KDW, NN and CS?

Portbigcity
05-27-2015, 01:02 PM
Spoke with Medallion yesterday and there is no way to program the KDW,NN,CS in the 2010 BIG screen. Have a new prop on the way from OJ so hopefully that will help out with my issue.

GoneBoatN
05-27-2015, 02:25 PM
Spoke with Medallion yesterday and there is no way to program the KDW,NN,CS in the 2010 BIG screen. Have a new prop on the way from OJ so hopefully that will help out with my issue.

B.S.

See
https://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=44531&page=3

Problem is that it depends upon the software/firmware version running as to the exact location of those settings in the menus. It's in there. Seek and you will find.

As a suggestion, if you have the 2010 BIG, I suggest you browse through each and every menu option (just don't do a reset) and you will be surprised at what you find in there.

joshbw
05-27-2015, 10:22 PM
In my 2011 the PP setting are hidden under the help menu, no idea why they would be there.

Portbigcity
05-28-2015, 08:31 AM
GoneboatN I stand corrected. Found it under rider setup for wakeboard setup. Upped it to 180 but still did not hold all that well. Thanks for the info. You would have thought the medallion guy would have known that.

Portbigcity
05-28-2015, 08:34 AM
GoneboatN can you adjust the CS? My problem is when trying to hold 10.8 it will shoot to 12+ then takes minutes to fall back to 10.8. Usually will not hold that and will stick around 11.2- 11.4. Thanks again for the info

GoneBoatN
05-28-2015, 05:05 PM
If you found setting under the Rider setup then I think you have an older version of the software. In regards to CS, I believe it is in the menus somewhere in the older version. Problem being, none of that was ever documented very well.

Unfortunately mine is the newer version and as the other post mentioned all those setting are under the Help Menu section. The older version is so long ago to me so I don't recall exactly where it is at.

Portbigcity
06-26-2015, 09:58 AM
Ok, thankfully Jeff at Texas Mastercraft was able to tell me how you can change KDW, CS and NN in a 2010 Medallion BIG.

Go to PP screen
make sure PP is on
Hit the arrow (return button) 2 times until the > sign is highlighted (I believe it is to the right of the speed.
Then hit the + button to enter Slalom, wakeboard menu.
make sure wakeboard is selected and hit the - button
this will drop down a screen that will allow you to change all 3 settings.
I may finally get my PP to work properly while surfing
I will be out tomorrow and if I misrepresented any of these instruction I will repost
I hope this helps

Going through this process reminds me of the old Super Contra cheat code on Nintendo
I may have dated myself with that comment but I am sure a couple of people will remember that one.