PDA

View Full Version : Do I have a bad fuel pump?

jgraham37128
05-25-2014, 12:21 AM
Boat ran great all day, just like normal. I go to the marina have dinner, head back to my marina and half way through the no wake zone it starts sputtering till it dies. I start it up and it idles but as soon as you give it gas it would die. Long story short I finally get it back to the dock after multiple times starting it and letting it spit a few ft and then die again. At one point it lets me rev the motor then a few seconds later it sputters again till it dies.

Does this sound like a bad fuel pump?

I have a 2010 Mastercraft X2 with 187 hours. Three year warranty is days from running out or has just ran out. It's May 20 something 2014 when it expires.

sand2snow22
05-25-2014, 02:06 AM
Sounds more like fuel filter. When was the last time you changed the fuel filter? Hard on pump, tho. Don't be surprised if your pump goes down the road..

jgraham37128
05-25-2014, 07:13 AM
I've never changed the fuel filter. From what I understand the filter and pump is built together inside the tank?

ttu
05-25-2014, 07:41 AM
my 07 x2 did the same exact thing and it turned out to be the fuel pump. first mechanic replaced the fuel filter and ran a bit then started everything again.

my dealer told me I was lucky to have gotten 250 hrs out of pump!:rolleyes::rolleyes:

jovoth
05-25-2014, 08:15 AM
When my fuel pump went out on my 07 X2 my wife had just pulled me up out of the water and then everything just shut down. Engine turned over fine just no spark, nothing happened, wouldn't even start.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

jgraham37128
05-25-2014, 12:58 PM
Fuel pump is out and I'm hoping to meet with someone at the dealership to get a new one today.

Does anyone know what the warranty period is for a Mastercraft fuel pump? My boat was purchased new in May of 2011. I know the motor has a three year warranty and I'm hoping the fuel pump will have the same warranty?

jgraham37128