PDA

View Full Version : Crack!

blairternowski
10-26-2011, 02:07 PM
Hey everyone,

I am new to the whole boating scene, and looking at buying a bank repossession through a bailiff company that I do some work for. Its a 2006 Mastercraft X star, with about 250 hours on the motor ( I dont know any of the fine details on the boat). I had my first viewing of the boat yesterday and i noticed a crack in the hull.. has anyone had a repair done to their boat like this before? what am I expecting for a price for the repair? I need some ammunition so i can barter with the banks of the final price. Let me know if any of you have had to fix something like this before

Thanks!

ttu
10-26-2011, 02:14 PM
is it just in the gel coat or thru that. i would be a little worried buying it unless the price was way to good to walk away.

Table Rocker
10-26-2011, 02:31 PM
I would think that the crack had to open up fairly wide to tear through those graphics like that.

willyt
10-26-2011, 02:44 PM
is it just in the gel coat or thru that. i would be a little worried buying it unless the price was way to good to walk away.

I agree - something not right about the crack going through the vynl graphics like that. That's definitely a significant issue...

76S&S
10-26-2011, 02:57 PM
I would think that the crack had to open up fairly wide to tear through those graphics like that.

I agree, if it tore through the graphics it had to be a good size gap at some point.

shepherd
10-26-2011, 04:09 PM
If that crack is in the hull and not just the graphics, I'd walk away from it. Fiberglass is pretty tough stuff, so a deep crack in it suggests to me either a manufacturing defect or some serious abuse by the prior owner. But I could be wrong.... :rolleyes:

helton333
10-26-2011, 04:13 PM
sideways hit? Either that or could it possibly be done from reentry on a HUGE launch off a wave -off shore type wave?

waterlogged882
10-26-2011, 05:07 PM

zamboniman
10-26-2011, 05:27 PM