Go Back   TeamTalk > General MasterCraft Topics > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-11-2008, 11:43 AM
treptowr treptowr is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Boat: 2002 X-Star TBI 310HP Predator
Location: Midwest
Posts: 251
Installing float switch

I was having problems with my auto bilge and traced it to the float switch. I ordered a replacement of exactly what I had in the boat: http://www.marinersdirect.com/shorts...p?ITEM=0236152
The problem is, the existing float switch only has two wires coming out of it (red and black) and the one I ordered has 3 wires (2 brown and black)? I have a three way switch at the dash, off-manual-auto. The wiring instructions that came with it weren't really clear. Any ideas on how to wire this up to work? black to black obviously, but not sure after that? Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-11-2008, 12:09 PM
flipper's Avatar
flipper flipper is offline
MC Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Boat: 1991 Prostar 190, fuel injected 302
Location: Under the radar
Posts: 5,083
I'm pretty sure the two browns go between the pump and the dash (+), and the black to ground(-).
__________________
Lots of power is good, more is better, too much is just right.

'91 prostar 190
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-2008, 01:56 PM
JLeuck64's Avatar
JLeuck64 JLeuck64 is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Boat: 98 Prostar 190 Stars & Stripes, LT1
Location: Oregon
Posts: 695
I have been looking for this replacement switch myself and had given up because I couldn't find one by itself. Didn't see the point in spending the dough to purchase a whole new pump just to get a float switch. But, you found one for me! Thank you! They are termporarily out of stock so I'll have to wait a bit to get one. In the mean time if you could scan the wiring diagram (instructions) and PM a copy to me or post it up I will try my best to figure it out for ya!
Regards,
__________________
http://www.mastercraft.com/photopost...er=2572&sort=1
Need LT-1 parts?
OIL FILTER: Factory installed is a Penzoil P23, Afta market brands, AC Delco PF-454 and a Fram PH-13 or PH-30 will work.
SPARK PLUGS: AC Delco MR43LTS (gapped to .040")
FUEL FILTERS: AC Delco 25171391 (pump inlet side)
89058397 (pump outlet side)
IGNITION WIRES: Call Inboard Online @ (877) 327-7175 and order part numbers 556010A (odd bank) and 556010B (even bank)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-2008, 08:07 PM
WTRSK1R's Avatar
WTRSK1R WTRSK1R is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Boat: 2004 MasterCraft ProStar 197
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by flipper View Post
I'm pretty sure the two browns go between the pump and the dash (+), and the black to ground(-).
I would agree with flipper. An easy way to check would be use a Digital Multimeter in the Ohm mode and just measure the switch, but if you do not have one a battery and a light bulb will work just as well. If flipper is right, put one brown wire on one side of the battery, the other brown wire on the side of the light bulb and then hold the light bulb center contact to the other end of the battery. The light should come on when you lift up the float. (or have someone else lift it since you are probably out of hands at this point)
__________________
A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worthwhile



2004 Prostar 197 - Red on White

350 TBI, Perfect Pass, Heater, Shower and a whole lot of fun!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-12-2008, 12:54 AM
91ps190 91ps190 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Boat: mastercraft,ps190,1991
Location: Southern Alberta, Canada
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by WTRSK1R View Post
I would agree with flipper. An easy way to check would be use a Digital Multimeter in the Ohm mode and just measure the switch, but if you do not have one a battery and a light bulb will work just as well. If flipper is right, put one brown wire on one side of the battery, the other brown wire on the side of the light bulb and then hold the light bulb center contact to the other end of the battery. The light should come on when you lift up the float. (or have someone else lift it since you are probably out of hands at this point)

I wonder if one of the brown wires is level switched and the other brown wire is straight thru for manual override of the level switch? The multi meter will tell you.
__________________
2006 X9

Team Canada!!!!

Previously;
1991 Prostar 190 w/New Dimension tower
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-23-2008, 05:31 PM
dsoby's Avatar
dsoby dsoby is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Boat: 2002 X7, LTR
Location: Memphis
Posts: 307
Here us a wiring diagram that may help you.
Let me know if you figure this out. I also have to replace my float switch.
http://www.dc-pump.cz/pdf/Electronic_float_switch.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-09-2014, 05:58 PM
_fng_'s Avatar
_fng_ _fng_ is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Boat: Prostar 205
Location: Texas
Posts: 338
I know this is an old thread but I replaced my old switch with the one linked above (2 wires in old, 3 in new switch) and need help.

I combined the wires as described in the manual, 2 old wires matched to new labeled power and ground and spliced in the lead to pump into the pump wire, but I get a whine from the switch and pump turns on but slower than normal. The pump still works normally in manual but it seems like it is not getting enough voltage in automatic for the pump to work appropriate.

Anyone have thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-09-2014, 06:05 PM
Cloaked Cloaked is offline
MC Maniac
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Boat: MasterCraft
Location: Kingston,TN USA
Posts: 4,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsoby View Post
Here us a wiring diagram that may help you.
Let me know if you figure this out. I also have to replace my float switch.
http://www.dc-pump.cz/pdf/Electronic_float_switch.pdf
Quote:
Originally Posted by _fng_ View Post
I know this is an old thread but I replaced my old switch with the one linked above (2 wires in old, 3 in new switch) and need help.

I combined the wires as described in the manual, 2 old wires matched to new labeled power and ground and spliced in the lead to pump into the pump wire, but I get a whine from the switch and pump turns on but slower than normal. The pump still works normally in manual but it seems like it is not getting enough voltage in automatic for the pump to work appropriate.

Anyone have thoughts?
Page 10 in the PDF shows a straight forward wiring schematic if indeed this is your application. Has to be close...

.
__________________
93 190
.
Don't be a boot licker
.

Hose picture (internal) http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/...68&postcount=8



Quote:
Originally Posted by Thrall View Post
..Some of you give a whole new meaning to the phrase "another @sshole with a Mastercraft."

RE: Thrall, Welcome to the club....
NEW SKINS in TN... Leading Edge Marine Interior

feedback on a TN company: http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/...ad.php?t=58767

.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-09-2014, 06:11 PM
_fng_'s Avatar
_fng_ _fng_ is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Boat: Prostar 205
Location: Texas
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cloaked View Post
Page 10 in the PDF shows a straight forward wiring schematic if indeed this is your application. Has to be close...

.
edit: bad ground, set up I had (as shown in pdf) was right but when grounded to engine worked normally. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:30 PM.