Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Audio/Stereo

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-11-2014, 03:29 PM
ncskier's Avatar
ncskier ncskier is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Boat: 1999 Prostar 205
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 193
Looking for flush mount USB port

I'm trying to find a flush mount USB port rather than plugging into the cable on the back of the deck (Clarion M502)

The Clarion CCAUSB extension is not available anywhere I could find. It looks nice and is threaded so it would be an easy install. I really don't need 5' of extra cable...only the flush mount port end.

Name:  x020CAUSB-f.jpeg
Views: 169
Size:  13.0 KB

http://www.crutchfield.com/p_020CAUS...causb&tp=61766


thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-11-2014, 03:44 PM
Sodar's Avatar
Sodar Sodar is online now
MC Master Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Boat: '07 ProStar 197 w/ MCX
Location: Seal Beach, CA
Posts: 11,012
I have a flush mount USB/3.5mm port at home that I bought on clearance a couple years back, but never used. I'll take a pic tonight and see if it is what you are after. Like you said, though. It has a lot of extra wire that will likely never be used.
__________________
-Cameron
2007 ProStar 197
1996 ProStar 190
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2014, 03:45 PM
Sodar's Avatar
Sodar Sodar is online now
MC Master Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Boat: '07 ProStar 197 w/ MCX
Location: Seal Beach, CA
Posts: 11,012
Here is a pic of basically what I have...



__________________
-Cameron
2007 ProStar 197
1996 ProStar 190
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-2014, 03:46 PM
ctmaloney ctmaloney is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Boat: 97 Prostar 205, 350 TBI
Location: Texas
Posts: 26
Amazon...? This one has a 3.5mm AUX too...

USB & 3.5mm AUX extension Flush Mount 2 Meter Audio cable , 1/8 AUX Car Bike Boat Motercycle Lead

All the ones I saw without the cable were just for power not USB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2014, 06:30 PM
ncskier's Avatar
ncskier ncskier is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Boat: 1999 Prostar 205
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 193
Thanks, I am trying to find one without the aux port since it's not needed.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-2014, 06:35 PM
Sodar's Avatar
Sodar Sodar is online now
MC Master Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Boat: '07 ProStar 197 w/ MCX
Location: Seal Beach, CA
Posts: 11,012
http://www.alliedelec.com/search/pro...eSIaAvLV8P8HAQ

__________________
-Cameron
2007 ProStar 197
1996 ProStar 190
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-11-2014, 08:37 PM
CantRepeat's Avatar
CantRepeat CantRepeat is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Boat: 06 X30
Location: Roll Tide!!
Posts: 8,356
I installed one of these. You don't have to use that large plate in front. Just drill the hole and it has a backing nut. It was the same size as the Clarion 3.5m jack that was in the glove box of my boat so I just reused that hole. My Alpine head unit has an iPod connection so no need for the old one.

http://www.bluesea.com/products/1016...ocket/featured
__________________
Tim
Gone, surfing.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-2014, 10:46 PM
ncskier's Avatar
ncskier ncskier is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Boat: 1999 Prostar 205
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sodar View Post
Thanks, this looks great. The model in the link has a 2 meter cable but a shorter 0.5 meter is also available.

The only other I could find was one from JL. Way over what I need at $60. It at least splits the aux into L/R ?
http://www.jlaudio.com/xmc-usb-3-5mm...mounting-90366

Name:  jlusb.jpg
Views: 126
Size:  15.2 KB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:01 PM.