Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Electrical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-05-2014, 02:03 PM
lance714 lance714 is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Boat: 2006 Mastercraft Prostar 197 with MCX motor
Location: Midwest
Posts: 1
Problem Calibrating Speedometers

I have a 2006 Mastercraft Prostar 197 with two speedometers and the MC cruise. All of a sudden both of the speedos are WAY off... they say I am doing 40 when I know I am only doing about 25. I have tried calibrating them, re-zeroing them, etc with no success. I can adjust the left one but I cannot adjust the right one for some reason. Has anyone else had this problem? What do you suggest?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2014, 11:43 PM
DonB DonB is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Boat: 1999 Master Craft Pro Star 205
Location: Midwest
Posts: 96
I'm keeping an eye on this thread, I've got a '99 PS 205 and I'm having speedo issues.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-2014, 12:44 AM
mgs96ps's Avatar
mgs96ps mgs96ps is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Boat: 96 ProStar 190 LT1
Location: Midwest
Posts: 472
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...abs.speedgauge

If you have a smart phone...get the speed gauge app. Set both Speedos to the app.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-2014, 12:55 AM
mgs96ps's Avatar
mgs96ps mgs96ps is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Boat: 96 ProStar 190 LT1
Location: Midwest
Posts: 472
Also...most pick-ups on the transom have a hinge break point in case they hit something in the water...I would check to see if they are seated properly.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-11-2014, 01:15 AM
JMLVMI's Avatar
JMLVMI JMLVMI is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2013
Boat: 2000 Prostar 195 - 350 TBI Predator, 1:1, 13x11.5 OJ 3-Blade
Location: RDU, NC
Posts: 883
Do they use pitot tubes? Make sure they are cleaned out with a pin (very small holes)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-11-2014, 11:29 AM
CantRepeat's Avatar
CantRepeat CantRepeat is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Boat: 06 X30
Location: Roll Tide!!
Posts: 8,687
06 197 should be paddle wheel.

Don't you have a little panel on the dash with 3 switches on it? Two of them say speedo and the one says something else.

That's what mine has and you can adjust the speed with those switches.
__________________
Tim
Gone, surfing.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-11-2014, 11:23 PM
CSPR CSPR is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Boat: 1994 PS 205 Ford 351
Location: Southeast
Posts: 5
+1 for the speed for a smart phone app(that is how I calibrate mine)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-22-2014, 04:54 PM
nemoflyer nemoflyer is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Boat: 2006 X45 with 8.1
Location: Texas
Posts: 2
did it get set back to metric?

go to the hours display and hold the gauge selection button down for three seconds, when prompted select english then wait three seconds for it to return to normal operation. Thats what happened to mine.....I was pulling the kids wakeboarding at 22mph on my gauge and the cruise had to be set to 36 in order to do this....it was 36 kph which was about 22mph.

Hope this is your problem and not a calibration.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
calibration, speedometer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:32 AM.