Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Electrical

Old 06-14-2014, 09:26 PM
TT Newbie

Boat: Mastercraft 197, 2002
Three Gages Died today...

I have a 2002 Mastercraft 197. Ran well the last two weekends. Today, lost THREE gages: The tach, the left speedo, and the engine temp. (I have an aftermarket Perfect Pass in the right speedo hole).

I find it odd that THREE gages died all at the same instant. From reading, suspect that the MMDC may have gone bad.

IS THERE A WAY TO BE SURE? IS THERE A TROUBLE SHOOTING GUIDE FOR THE MEDALLION MMDC?

The label says 7018-00001-01. I've seen replacements on the web for $500 +, and don't want to spend that kind of money if the MMDC is NOT bad.

Read on one site that if ONE gage is bad, it will mess up the others. Not sure if that's true.
On my boat, the fuel gage and volt meter still work OK. But the other three gages are dead.

The needles DO "quiver" on start up, but that's it. They don't swing way up and then fall back. They just quiver.

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks in advance....
Old 06-14-2014, 09:31 PM
MC Devotee

Boat: 2000 230 VRS
Could be an mdc failure. Could be a single gauge on the bus making "noise" and causing the 3 gauges down the line to stop working. It's not likely senders.

Here's the troubleshooting guide:
http://www.bakesonline.com/images/Me...oubleshoot.pdf

I worked through it numerous times and got inconsistent/inconclusive results.

Apparently you can also send off the mdc to medallion for testing and they can tell you if it's bad or good with certainty.
Old 06-15-2014, 07:29 AM
MC Devotee

Boat: Maristar 200VRS w/ X2 Package, 2007, 310HP