Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Trailers

Old 05-27-2014, 09:18 PM
TT Enthusiast

Boat: 2003 Mastercraft X10
Greased/Oiled bearings?

This past weekend my bearings went out on my single axle trailer "drivers side only". I have zero experience with this repair but I had no choice since it was a Sunday. So, on the side of the road with the help of Youtube I took the wheel off, removed the disc brake caliper, and disassembled the hub. I took my broken bearings and seal to advance auto parts and they sold me some parts and even greased the bearings for me. I didn't know to tell them that my brakes used oil instead of grease. At the time I didn't know the difference between greased bearings and oiled bearings. So, greased bearings are what I installed with no oil. So I want to do some upkeep on my other bearings, so should I take them apart, inspect them, and then grease them? Or should I just replace the oil? The seal definitely needs to be replaced because the oil that's in it now is very milky looking and most likely 11 years old. I have a 2003 Mastercraft X-10 with a 2003 Mastercraft trailer.

1st question "to recap": Should I use grease on my passenger side or remove the grease from the drivers side and use the oil? I want both sides to be the same.

2nd question: Does anyone know what kind of brake pads are on it so I can replace those as well, while I have the wheel off? The brake pads are so rusted I am unable to make out any numbers on them.
Attached Images

Old 05-27-2014, 09:56 PM
TT Enthusiast

Boat: 2006. Mastercraft maristar
should be a small drain plug , (allen head) that will allow you to drain and fill. It is a oil bath system and takes 90 weight oil in oil. Pull one off and take bearings out and bring to any parts store or dealer. Can match and replace seals, , good system, just needs maintenance. You can also order more covers with a new sight cap glass.
Old 05-27-2014, 09:57 PM
TT Enthusiast