Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Audio/Stereo

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-10-2014, 11:29 AM
dt37803's Avatar
dt37803 dt37803 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Boat: 2014 X2 5.7 Pro and Surf
Location: Lake Tellico home of MC
Posts: 374
Fusion head unit questions

My 2014 x2 has the fusion stereo with 1 amp for two tower speakers. sounds great but 1 problem.
They wired the tower with the pre-outs from the head unit (zone 1) and the in boats bow on zone 1 and cockpit on zone 2. The only way to get any sound in the bow is to crank up zone 1 which blasts the tower speakers. I tried paralleling all four in boats off zone 2 and the head unit kills sound after 30 seconds..
Can anybody tell me how to switch this so zone 1 is tower with amp as is now and all boat speakers on zone 2?
love the X2 Going to try the gen 2 surfing tomorrow
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-2014, 12:54 PM
geordie-wake geordie-wake is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Boat: 99 Prostar 205v 330 LTR
Location: UK north east
Posts: 104
you should be able to just switch the connections (pre-outs) around into the back of the head unit. The way mine is connected is zone 1 and 2 **** pit and bow because you can link these together if you want in the menu settings. Zone three is recommended for a Sub and I have four tower speakers on zone 4 through an amp. My head unit is the older ipod 600 though but I think the newer sets have a similar set up.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-10-2014, 02:32 PM
dt37803's Avatar
dt37803 dt37803 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Boat: 2014 X2 5.7 Pro and Surf
Location: Lake Tellico home of MC
Posts: 374
Thanks geordie-wake, The head unit we have has 2 zones and a separate sub output with adjustments but no 4th zone. Wondering if I add an in boat amp and run it off zone 2 with all 4 speakers attached to it would work. when I disconnect zone 1 in boat speakers there is no load on that zone and it cuts out the head unit after 30 seconds.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2014, 10:34 PM
Cain0725 Cain0725 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Boat: 2006. Mastercraft maristar
Location: South central
Posts: 364
just use a "Y" cable and merge the zones that way, if u do it on the speaker end your changing the ohms.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-11-2014, 08:37 AM
ol1970 ol1970 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Boat: 2014 X Star 7.4L
Location: midwest
Posts: 264
I would have your dealer make a house call and fix it themselves...my dealer would in a heartbeat.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-11-2014, 08:43 AM
JimN's Avatar
JimN JimN is online now
MC Master Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by dt37803 View Post
Thanks geordie-wake, The head unit we have has 2 zones and a separate sub output with adjustments but no 4th zone. Wondering if I add an in boat amp and run it off zone 2 with all 4 speakers attached to it would work. when I disconnect zone 1 in boat speakers there is no load on that zone and it cuts out the head unit after 30 seconds.
By "cuts out the head unit", does this mean all audio stops, or that the head unit goes dark? If it goes dark, call Fusion and ask for some tech advice- that's not normal. You should be able to use, or not use, the Zone 1 speaker outputs as needed. Are you controlling each zone separately, or using the volume control with all zones ganged together? That could be an important distinction. Or, since it's a new boat, MC/your dealer should be able to help.

What model is the head unit?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-11-2014, 09:06 AM
dt37803's Avatar
dt37803 dt37803 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Boat: 2014 X2 5.7 Pro and Surf
Location: Lake Tellico home of MC
Posts: 374
I have the model ms- ra205. what I tried was connecting the bow speakers parallel to the cockpit and leaving the tower on pre-out zone 1. After 30 seconds the unit cuts off all sound ( unit is still lit up) until you you wait 1 minuet or power it down and bring back on. Then it does it again. I think it is because of a 2ohm load versus a 4 ohm load? Linking zone 1 and 2 links the tower amp also
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-11-2014, 09:34 AM
JimN's Avatar
JimN JimN is online now
MC Master Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by dt37803 View Post
I have the model ms- ra205. what I tried was connecting the bow speakers parallel to the cockpit and leaving the tower on pre-out zone 1. After 30 seconds the unit cuts off all sound ( unit is still lit up) until you you wait 1 minuet or power it down and bring back on. Then it does it again. I think it is because of a 2ohm load versus a 4 ohm load? Linking zone 1 and 2 links the tower amp also
I can't think of ANY head units that are OK with a 2 Ohm load. Must be the protection circuit doing its job.

Try connecting the speakers in series and see what happens. If it keeps playing, this would indicate that the load is too low as wired now.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-11-2014, 09:44 AM
dt37803's Avatar
dt37803 dt37803 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Boat: 2014 X2 5.7 Pro and Surf
Location: Lake Tellico home of MC
Posts: 374
Thanks will try that later when we come off the water tonight
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-19-2014, 08:34 AM
dt37803's Avatar
dt37803 dt37803 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Boat: 2014 X2 5.7 Pro and Surf
Location: Lake Tellico home of MC
Posts: 374
Update, I took the in boat speakers wired them in series to create a 8 ohm load ,wired on zone 2 with the tower on zone 1 pre out and all works great. Now we can turn up the boat speakers in the whole boat at once without blasting the towers. Thanks for all your input,As usual team talk members know all! Thanks JimN
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:44 PM.