Go Back   TeamTalk > General MasterCraft Topics > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-09-2014, 08:57 PM
jdhart73's Avatar
jdhart73 jdhart73 is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Boat: 2013 X30
Location: Midwest
Posts: 558
Arrow Gen2 did you all know this?

(Edited to add that I am totally wrong about this and so was the Mastercraft rep I talked to so don't waste your time reading..LOL.)



So am I the only knucklehead that didn't know Gen2 also includes a sack that goes under the floor up front? I assume it is plumbed into the overflow on the KGB ballast from the looks of the diagram. The below shows all of the boats that offer Gen2 and the weights associated with each. The X30 adds 1920 lbs total over stock. The X10 adds damn near that much for being a smaller boat, should be good!

This changes my approach to how I weight this thing if so, won't need any additional thru hulls if this is the case. Maybe just slap a few hundred pounds of lead on each side coffin locker.


Last edited by jdhart73; 04-09-2014 at 09:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2014, 09:10 PM
bcd bcd is online now
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Boat: 2014 X-2
Location: Dubuque, IA
Posts: 496
I was of the understanding that those numbers included the 3 standard hard tanks, but I could be wrong. If they do include the standard tanks, the rear bags don't look to be maximum volume. The X-2 fly high bags are 450 pounds, which would only leave 100 pounds for the hard tank, if the gen2 bags were the same 450 to fill the rear storage area.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2014, 09:12 PM
Nick911's Avatar
Nick911 Nick911 is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Boat: 2013 Mastercraft X25, 6.0 Ilmor, Pro Package, slammed and flaked!
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,253
I think those are all stock KGB tanksZ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-09-2014, 09:14 PM
jdhart73's Avatar
jdhart73 jdhart73 is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Boat: 2013 X30
Location: Midwest
Posts: 558
I was told these were the additional bags that go in on top of stock by the person I talked with at Mastercraft today. We know the system includes 2 extra bags in the rear, it was the extra bag up front that I was not aware of.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-2014, 09:18 PM
501s's Avatar
501s 501s is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Boat: 2013 X-30, 6.0L, 2500lbs of Ballast, 650lbs of Lead.
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 742
Those weights include all factory. It's only adding on about 1k to the x30 in the form of 2 sacs in the rear. Probably about 450s a side. There is easily room for 750s as we all know.
__________________
2013 X-30, 6.0L with 2500lbs of ballast and 500 lbs of lead.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-09-2014, 09:20 PM
jdhart73's Avatar
jdhart73 jdhart73 is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Boat: 2013 X30
Location: Midwest
Posts: 558
So if thats all stock KGB tanks then why does it not reflect the plug and play bags that we know go with the system in the rear? Im confused.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-09-2014, 09:22 PM
jdhart73's Avatar
jdhart73 jdhart73 is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Boat: 2013 X30
Location: Midwest
Posts: 558
Ahh ok so you are saying the rear corners on the X30 for instance are factory hard tanks plus whatever the bags they put in it for plug and play?

Well thats lame and not at all what they told me but makes sense. The crazy thing is I don't think they know! LOL

I wonder why the random 710 # in the rear? What does the hard tank weight vs. the bags?

Last edited by jdhart73; 04-09-2014 at 09:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-09-2014, 09:46 PM
FourFourty's Avatar
FourFourty FourFourty is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Boat: 2015 X23 w/giant punkin motor
Location: Northeast
Posts: 1,245
I measured the bags on my X30, and calculated their weight when full..... The bags are 400lb, so I assume the factory tanks are 310 each. And I can confirm that my boat did not come with any bag for the front. That advertised weight is just the KGB. I did, however, add a pump, and a pigtail hose, so I could easily fill/empty one in the front. I put the switch in the spot for the tower switch at the helm, and installed a jabsco ballast timer to prevent burning up the switch or the pump.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-09-2014, 09:50 PM
jdhart73's Avatar
jdhart73 jdhart73 is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Boat: 2013 X30
Location: Midwest
Posts: 558
Thanks FourFourty, that makes sense. I got all excited thinking I could avoid adding some thru hulls but it looks like I will be doing just that. Oh well! I feel stupid!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-09-2014, 09:54 PM
FourFourty's Avatar
FourFourty FourFourty is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Boat: 2015 X23 w/giant punkin motor
Location: Northeast
Posts: 1,245
Why add a through hull?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:33 AM.