Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Audio/Stereo

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-03-2014, 07:57 PM
KnoxX2's Avatar
KnoxX2 KnoxX2 is offline
MC Maniac
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Boat: 2014 MasterCraft X30
Location: Northeast
Posts: 3,895
High Power stereo option

Ok if you order a new boat with the High Power stereo option it comes with a JL700 5 channel amp. If you wanted to use this amp and add 2 JL tower speakers what amp would you add and what configuration would you use to get the bast sound quality?

Ready Go.................
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-04-2014, 11:42 AM
David Analog's Avatar
David Analog David Analog is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Boat: N/A
Location: Texas
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by KnoxX2 View Post
Ok if you order a new boat with the High Power stereo option it comes with a JL700 5 channel amp. If you wanted to use this amp and add 2 JL tower speakers what amp would you add and what configuration would you use to get the bast sound quality?

Ready Go.................
That is a great amplifier. And you could run four in-boat speakers on the front (1&2) two channels with the two tower speakers on the rear (3&4) channels.
But, it is not enough power. Period.
Check in with Odin at Earmark Marine for JL Audio configurations. He has the April JL Audio marine sale going on now.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2014, 11:52 AM
KnoxX2's Avatar
KnoxX2 KnoxX2 is offline
MC Maniac
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Boat: 2014 MasterCraft X30
Location: Northeast
Posts: 3,895
Do you have a phone number for him I tried to call Earmark and i was not able to get through to anyone. I just had the option of leaving a message.

Also I would like to get all I could out of the factory amp and still meet the max recommended for the speakers. Can I run the sub at 2 ohms? How do I do that?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-04-2014, 01:14 PM
David Analog's Avatar
David Analog David Analog is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Boat: N/A
Location: Texas
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by KnoxX2 View Post
Do you have a phone number for him I tried to call Earmark and i was not able to get through to anyone. I just had the option of leaving a message.

Also I would like to get all I could out of the factory amp and still meet the max recommended for the speakers. Can I run the sub at 2 ohms? How do I do that?
When they don't pick up that usually means they are presently in a conversation. I would imagine they are always busy this time of year. So just leave a message. Or email with the provisions on their site. I'm sure that like most people they respond in the order that messages are received.

If a woofer is a 4-ohm single voice coil, there is no way you can reconfigure to lower the impedance to match the amplifier single channel 2-ohm rating. However, even though that amplifier is not regulated, when tested, it does deliver a high percentage of its 2-ohm power into a 4-ohm load specifically on the sub section. Just because you can doesn't mean that you should load an amplifier all the way down to the maximum power/minimum impedance on all channels simultaneously.
The JL Audio factory-equipped speakers are excellent but are under-powered in the factory offering. The only way you will add tower speakers and reach their potential is to add another amplifier.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-04-2014, 01:48 PM
Hammer's Avatar
Hammer Hammer is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Boat: '07 X45 LY6
Location: South Central Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,511
Maybe run the in boats and the sub off the factory amp and add a second amp for the tower.


I'm so out of the loop I'm in a square.
__________________
______________________________

You look like I need a beer!

2001 Prostar 195 Sold

2007 X45 LY6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-04-2014, 02:34 PM
KnoxX2's Avatar
KnoxX2 KnoxX2 is offline
MC Maniac
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Boat: 2014 MasterCraft X30
Location: Northeast
Posts: 3,895
Would I be better off adding another amp to run the boat speakers and use the 700 with the channels bridged to run the tower. This would give me 180W to the tower. I think?

Also is the 700 sub channel enough for the sub to perform at its best?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:39 AM.