Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Engine / Drive Train

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-16-2013, 02:27 PM
Topp dawg Topp dawg is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Boat: 2003 Mastercraft X10
Location: Southeast
Posts: 249
New tach wrong hours. How to correct.

I got a new tach and the hours meter reads 0, does anyone know how to make it display the correct hours?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-17-2013, 12:11 AM
j.mccreight@hotmail.com's Avatar
j.mccreight@hotmail.com j.mccreight@hotmail.com is offline
MC Maniac
 
Join Date: May 2010
Boat: 1989 MasterCraft TriStar 190 SE
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 3,316
Quote:
Originally Posted by Topp dawg View Post
I got a new tach and the hours meter reads 0, does anyone know how to make it display the correct hours?
You'll have to figure out which wires on the tachometer control the hours, apply batt voltage for the number of hours, only way, there is no way to "program" the hours.
__________________
James

1989 MasterCraft TriStar 190 SE
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-19-2013, 08:25 AM
Topp dawg Topp dawg is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Boat: 2003 Mastercraft X10
Location: Southeast
Posts: 249
I have a newer tach that is digital. I don't see how this method could be accomplished.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-19-2013, 10:29 AM
catamount catamount is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Boat: 1987 ProStar 190
Location: Vermont
Posts: 420
Quote:
Originally Posted by Topp dawg View Post
I have a newer tach that is digital. I don't see how this method could be accomplished.
Well, your newer tach surely has 12V + and - and the majority of tachs are not checking for RPMS, they're checking for voltage.

Hook up a trickle charger to the appropriate stubs for an hour and see if it counts up. If it does, leave the trickle charger on until you're synced up.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-19-2013, 12:21 PM
Topp dawg Topp dawg is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Boat: 2003 Mastercraft X10
Location: Southeast
Posts: 249
My tach has a 5 wire plug.

Ground
7 volt power
12 volt power "for nighttime illumination only"
data "This is the one that tells the gauges what information to display"
Empty


The data wire can only be between 3 and 6 volts. I do not think a trickle charge method would work. I attached a picture from the medallion troubleshooting guide.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-19-2013, 01:03 PM
76S&S's Avatar
76S&S 76S&S is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Boat: 2002 X Star
Location: At the lake or on the way to the lake!
Posts: 1,832
Does the new tach read "0" or "No Data"?
__________________
Being on the water is best, but when I'm not on the water I'm on TT.

2002 X Star
Sold - 76 S&S
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-19-2013, 02:04 PM
Topp dawg Topp dawg is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Boat: 2003 Mastercraft X10
Location: Southeast
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by 76S&S View Post
Does the new tach read "0" or "No Data"?

The new tach reads zero.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-19-2013, 02:34 PM
Table Rocker's Avatar
Table Rocker Table Rocker is online now
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Boat: '96 ProStar 205, Sammy Duvall, LT-1
Location: Fayetteville, Arkansas
Posts: 1,629
I would guess the red/white wire runs the clock and the yellow is the needle. I am guessing that because the voltage on the red white wire is constant (7v +/- 0.5) and the yellow wire voltage varies between 3 and 6.
__________________
'96 ProStar 205 SD LT-1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-19-2013, 02:59 PM
Topp dawg Topp dawg is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Boat: 2003 Mastercraft X10
Location: Southeast
Posts: 249
To my knowledge the yellow wire controls the needle for RPMs and the hour meter. This is the data wire that tells the gauge what to show the driver. I asked medallion how to make the hour meter show the correct engine hours but they said it can't be done.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-19-2013, 03:02 PM
Bouyhead's Avatar
Bouyhead Bouyhead is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Boat: 1996 PS 190
Location: NYC
Posts: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by Topp dawg View Post
The new tach reads zero.
Does the the new tach record time?

A friend bought an 04' SN last year advertised w/ 175 hours but the the tach read zero. When we went to pick up the boat we questioned the zero hours and they said it was a new tach and thats why it read zero. I called BS and made a stink, then the tech came out hooked up a laptop and scrolled down to engine hours and you guessed it, 175 hours. Hmmm... my foot does fit in my mouth.

His new tach works, it just started from zero.
__________________
1996 ProStar 190
PCM ZR6 W/ Zero Off

Last edited by Bouyhead; 11-19-2013 at 03:04 PM. Reason: more info
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:46 PM.