Go Back   TeamTalk > General MasterCraft Topics > General Discussion

Old 09-27-2013, 04:44 PM
TT Enthusiast

Boat: 2007 Tige RZ2, previously 99 MC205
Gelcoat cracks?

Just looking for some feedback here. I've always been under the impression that ANY amount of gelcoat cracks are unacceptable, yet over the last few weeks when I ask a seller about cracks or fiberglass work that needs to be done I've had a few people tell me they have "a few small cracks that are perfectly normal". On Wednesday I drove 4 hours to look at a Malibu that the seller told me had only a few small cracks around the windshield base. I figured for the right price I can have them fixed. Once I got there the boat had cracks 10-12 inches long in numerous places. I was unhappy and he couldn't understand why. He said they were perfectly normal.

So am I being unreasonable to expect to find a boat with no cracking? I'm not that experienced with boat shopping so I don't know if i'm off base here.
Old 09-27-2013, 04:52 PM
MC Fanatic

Boat: 1999 X-Star
Gelcoat continues to cure and shrink over it's lifetime. I'd have to think spider cracks are pretty normal. I've got small cracks in the gelcoat all over the place.
Old 09-27-2013, 07:14 PM
TT Enthusiast

Boat: 2007 Tige RZ2, previously 99 MC205
I had some spider cracks on my 205 near the seat bases in the bow. Those don't really concern me. But the boats I've inquired about are far beyond little spider cracks. Not really old boats either. The Malibu I looked at was an 06.
Old 09-27-2013, 09:45 PM
MC Fanatic

Boat: 2001 prostar 205V
Seems to be more prevent on malibu's. there are a number of posts on there about significant tel spider cracks posted there. Our 205v has a couple of small ones where the bow seat meets the floor that aren't really noticeable.
Old 09-27-2013, 10:23 PM
Skipper