Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Engine / Drive Train

Old 09-07-2004, 02:17 PM
TT Regular

Boat: 82 Stars and Stripes
Speaking of rudders...

First time poster here...great resource this forum.

I have an 82 Mastercraft powerslot. Absolutely beautiful boat and she's been treated well over years. 1200 hours thereabouts. Been on the trailer mostly for the last two years but now starting to hit the water again.

Noticed this weekend that I have a lot of play in the rudder. Side to side almost like the bushing or bearing (?) might be worn. Or, maybe a pre-load nut is loose. Obviously, I need to get in there and see what might be the problem. Boat is hard to drive - tends to snap turn a bit when coming off a corner from a left turn.

Here's the question:

Is anyone familiar with the rudder system on these early models and are there typical issues that I might expect?

I read the other rudder thread with interest and was wondering if someone might have some pointers for me before I take everything apart.

Cheers!

Jeff
Seattle WA
Old 09-07-2004, 02:19 PM
MC Hero

Boat: 1998 Ski Nautique
Welcome, Jeff. I'm interested in the responses you get. My father-in-law's boat has play in the steering as well. I figured the cable must be loose.

Red 1998 Closed Bow Ski Boat, Ford 351, 310 hp, Acme 4 blade, Perfect Pass SG.

FAQ

Tyler Ski Club

To me, this forum is about love of inboard boats. It is about the sharing of information and, on a good day, some humor. It is not about post count, brand of boat, or any other superfluous labels that lend themselves to a false sense of superiority. Please, respect one another, try to pass on accurate information, and keep your eye on the ball.
Old 09-07-2004, 02:44 PM
MC Addict

Boat: 1982 Skier19, Powerslot, 351PCM
I have an 82 also.