Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Engine / Drive Train

Old 07-30-2013, 10:07 AM
TT Enthusiast

Boat: 2014 X-25 6.2 Ilmore
Guardian Mode for no reason

(Excuse the new thread but didn't have time to check all...)
I have an 01 X9 with the MCX that is going into guardian mode for no reason at varying speeds. Most of the time it is when running about 30 mph or after an extended run. Temp is fine, oil pressure is fine. I have a 160 degree thermostat in it which also seems to be functioning properly. No leaks from water pump and a new impeller for the season with about 35 hours on it. The dealer cannot locate the issue. It throws no codes on diagnostics. They have had it in the water several times and cannot replicate it. As soon as I get it back, it will do it for me within the first day. I haven't checked myself to see if I am not somehow throwing off radiation...but unless someone on these boards has an answer I guess that is next. .Anyone ever had this issue?
Old 07-30-2013, 11:56 AM
TT Newbie

Boat: 2005 X-Star MCX 350
What do you mean by gaurdian mode? I'm having a simliar issue with my 2005 X-star with an MCX. Take it to the dealer and they said they cannot read the codes because they are soft codes and are deleted off the computer after 3 warm up and cool down cycles.

Dealer fixed what they thought was the issue and the next weekend we take the boat out and it throws check engine on the first set back! The boat looses power and sits in neutral flashing check engine with the engine running but no control with the throttle (is this what you mean by gaurdian mode?) We turn the boat off then on and it works fine.

I think my issue has something to do with my perfect pass as I only experience the check engine with perfect pass on. Looking at buying my own code reader to scan the code as soon as it happens out on the water to solve the problem once and for all.
Old 07-30-2013, 12:24 PM
MC Devotee

Boat: ER xstar