Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Trailers

Old 10-03-2005, 11:06 PM
TT Regular

Boat: 04, X10, 350MCX
04 x10 Trailer

Was wondering if someone could give me some advice on this, I have an 04 X10 Tandum trailer, 4 wheel surge disk brakes, oil bath hubs with about 4000 miles on it. I had the trailer up on jack stands today and noticed that I could wiggle the wheels back and forth when they were off the ground. I'm not a mechanic, but the way I understand it the wheel should spin freely and there should be no play in it. Each wheel has a different degree of play in them. Would this be the bearings wearing out? The oil level in the hubs seems fine. All about 3/4 full. This is the first time I've had it in the air so I really don't know how to guage the wear and tear. Is this normal or do I have a potential issue?

Any thoughts would be appreciated....Jim
Old 10-03-2005, 11:46 PM
MC Maniac

Boat: 06 197 1.26:1 MCX (Gone but not forgotten)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim
Was wondering if someone could give me some advice on this, I have an 04 X10 Tandum trailer, 4 wheel surge disk brakes, oil bath hubs with about 4000 miles on it. I had the trailer up on jack stands today and noticed that I could wiggle the wheels back and forth when they were off the ground. I'm not a mechanic, but the way I understand it the wheel should spin freely and there should be no play in it. Each wheel has a different degree of play in them. Would this be the bearings wearing out? The oil level in the hubs seems fine. All about 3/4 full. This is the first time I've had it in the air so I really don't know how to guage the wear and tear. Is this normal or do I have a potential issue?

Any thoughts would be appreciated....Jim
Lugs all tight (re-torqed?). If so, then it sounds like bearings.
Old 10-05-2005, 11:54 PM
stevoh20