Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Electrical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2013, 07:23 PM
Kdmann64 Kdmann64 is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Boat: 2003 Mastercraft x2
Location: Southeast
Posts: 68
New tach can I change the hours?

Tach with hour meter went wacko on 01 prostar. I found a new one online and it just came. I'm guessing when I plug it in it will read 0. It has a 5 or six pole plug. Is ther anyway I can set it to read the actual hours tht are on the boat?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-23-2013, 07:25 PM
j.mccreight@hotmail.com's Avatar
j.mccreight@hotmail.com j.mccreight@hotmail.com is online now
MC Maniac
 
Join Date: May 2010
Boat: 1989 MasterCraft TriStar 190 SE
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 3,202
You will need to figure out the power and ground wires then hook up to a 12v source then let it click away to match your current hours...
__________________
James

1989 MasterCraft TriStar 190 SE
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2013, 08:56 PM
Kdmann64 Kdmann64 is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Boat: 2003 Mastercraft x2
Location: Southeast
Posts: 68
Installed the tach but it reads "no data" the tach works but the hour meter is giving me this message. What gives ???
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2013, 10:11 PM
east tx skier's Avatar
east tx skier east tx skier is offline
MC Hero
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Boat: 1998 Ski Nautique
Location: End of my rope.
Posts: 25,260
Ah, he has a digital. Run for it!

Sorry. Got nothing. Was going to post plug it into a battery and watch it go.
__________________
Previous: 1993 Prostar 205

Red 1998 Closed Bow Ski Boat, Ford 351, 310 hp, Acme 4 blade, Perfect Pass SG.

FAQ


Tyler Ski Club


To me, this forum is about love of inboard boats. It is about the sharing of information and, on a good day, some humor. It is not about post count, brand of boat, or any other superfluous labels that lend themselves to a false sense of superiority. Please, respect one another, try to pass on accurate information, and keep your eye on the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-26-2013, 07:46 PM
petermegan's Avatar
petermegan petermegan is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Boat: 2000 Matercraft Prostar 190, LTR330,powerslot,PP,heater
Location: South Australia
Posts: 477
Bought a tacho off Ebay last year and had the same result. Is it the same tacho as the one you are replacing, mine wasn't and it was looking for lake temp etc.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-30-2013, 06:32 PM
oshkarmeyer's Avatar
oshkarmeyer oshkarmeyer is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Boat: 2001 MasterCraft Prostar 205V
Location: Whiteman AFB, MO
Posts: 45
Kdmann-did you ever figure out what the problem was? My tach LED display also reads "no data" and it was a replacement installed by the PO.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-30-2013, 09:18 PM
3ponds 3ponds is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Boat: 1993 PS 205
Location: Northeast
Posts: 71
I have a digital tach with hour meter for sale. One left, brand new OEM Mastercraft #500050. If you need one. Pic listed under parts and assec. for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-31-2013, 12:26 AM
setidball's Avatar
setidball setidball is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Boat: 1995 ProStar 190
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 129
I don't think that hooking it up to 12v only will advance the meter. It probably needs a Tach signal to advance. I called the manufacturer of mine and asked for the signal spec. Then hooked it up to a signal generator for the appropriate number of hrs.

http://http://www.mastercraft.com/te...535#post904535

As for why it is reading "no data" ... perhaps the plug is not wired the same as the old one. Is it an OEM replacement? S
__________________
1995 ProStar 190
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-31-2013, 07:51 AM
gotjag941's Avatar
gotjag941 gotjag941 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Boat: 2008 Mastercraft X-Star
Location: Southeast
Posts: 168
Most likely you didn't need a gauge but a new mmdc which tell as all your gauges what to do
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-03-2013, 09:17 AM
76S&S's Avatar
76S&S 76S&S is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Boat: 2002 X Star
Location: At the lake or on the way to the lake!
Posts: 1,797
I've got the same "No data" issue with my new tach. All other gauges are working.
__________________
Being on the water is best, but when I'm not on the water I'm on TT.

2002 X Star
Sold - 76 S&S
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:08 AM.