Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Audio/Stereo

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2013, 02:00 PM
treiter's Avatar
treiter treiter is online now
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Boat: 2009 X-15
Location: Alberta
Posts: 143
Amp Level Control

I am currently gathering pieces for my stereo upgrade and have a question for you more experienced people. I was considering using a Kicker Dual Zone remote control for my in boat and tower amps. However looking at the amps I notice JL has a telephone jack type connection to control the level from each amp. The amps are a M2250 and a MHD-750/1. This telephone jack connection would be cleaner than the Kicker. Is there any advantage using the Kicker versus the JL factory route? ON teh MHD it says level control and on teh older M2250 it says bass level control. I assume these are the same thing?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2013, 08:50 PM
MLA MLA is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: May 2012
Boat: pontoon
Location: Lake Wylie Area
Posts: 1,087
The Kicker ZXM-RLC is also a 9V line level. The ZXM will also work regardless of what amps are used as its controlling the source signal level. On some amps, the Bass level control is just that, bass level and only works when the amp is in low-pass.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-31-2013, 09:28 AM
EarmarkMarine's Avatar
EarmarkMarine EarmarkMarine is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Boat: TBD
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by treiter View Post
I am currently gathering pieces for my stereo upgrade and have a question for you more experienced people. I was considering using a Kicker Dual Zone remote control for my in boat and tower amps. However looking at the amps I notice JL has a telephone jack type connection to control the level from each amp. The amps are a M2250 and a MHD-750/1. This telephone jack connection would be cleaner than the Kicker. Is there any advantage using the Kicker versus the JL factory route? ON teh MHD it says level control and on teh older M2250 it says bass level control. I assume these are the same thing?
These are two very different functions.
On the HD/MHD or XD/M amplifiers the port provides a linear level control.
On the G/M2250 amplifier the port is the gain for a bass boost which is equalization centered at a predetermined frequency.
With this mix of amplifiers the Kicker dual zone control looks like an easy solution. Or, you can skip the ports and do the same with two JL Audio line driver/controllers picking up the additional drive voltage.

David
__________________
Earmark Marine
www.earmarkmarine.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-31-2013, 11:19 AM
treiter's Avatar
treiter treiter is online now
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Boat: 2009 X-15
Location: Alberta
Posts: 143
Thanks for the explanation. Kicker controller it will be!

Picked up some 4 ga for my new amp yesterday. Holy Crap is copper getting expensive!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-31-2013, 12:11 PM
JimN's Avatar
JimN JimN is offline
MC Master Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,903
Quote:
Originally Posted by treiter View Post
Thanks for the explanation. Kicker controller it will be!

Picked up some 4 ga for my new amp yesterday. Holy Crap is copper getting expensive!
The reason the control uses a phone cable is that it electronically controls the level inside of the amp, not by sending the audio signal to a controller via long cables. The first way makes it very easy to avoid noise problems and the latter just about guarantees noise problems will exist.

Copper is a commodity and demand is high. Not as high as in during/before 2008, but it's still very high. Also, a lot of these metals are leaving this country because foreign buyers will pay high prices. People who want a World Market need to be careful about what they wish for.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-31-2013, 12:23 PM
waterlogged882 waterlogged882 is offline
MC Master Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Boat: wooden, boat, 1908, putt
Location: lake
Posts: 11,352
..........
__________________
America is great again

Last edited by waterlogged882; 09-18-2015 at 07:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-31-2013, 12:30 PM
treiter's Avatar
treiter treiter is online now
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Boat: 2009 X-15
Location: Alberta
Posts: 143
Good points. I just needed something to complain about!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-31-2013, 12:42 PM
JimN's Avatar
JimN JimN is offline
MC Master Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,903
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cloaked View Post
Copper is still relatively cheap.... about half the price in 2008 than now. Price really hasn't gone up in the last 2 years or so.

2008 ==> http://www.tradeservice.com/copper_pricing/2008.html

2013 ==> http://www.tradeservice.com/copper_pricing/index.html

World market... lol.. unfortunately the rest of the world can and does afford it. The U.S. is in hock and getting deeper beyond debt....

.
Copper is cheap? Really? If it's so cheap, why has the price of Coax and Cat5e/6 more than doubled since 2007? Also, look at warehouse stock levels- that, coupled with demand.....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-07-2013, 01:27 PM
Traxx822's Avatar
Traxx822 Traxx822 is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Boat: Mastercraft, Maristar 200VRS, 1995, Indimar 5.7, My first MasterCraft
Location: Chicago SW sub
Posts: 2,485
I was thinking the same thing. About installing a level controller. I have 2 JL amps. a 600.4 and a 900.5 and both have the telephone wire port. Does this mean I have to get 2 controllers and can I run them in series?
__________________
When I was a child, I used to talk as a child, think as a child, reason as a child; when I became a man, I put aside childish things.
1 Corinthians Chapter 13 - 11
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-07-2013, 01:40 PM
JimN's Avatar
JimN JimN is offline
MC Master Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,903
Quote:
Originally Posted by Traxx822 View Post
I was thinking the same thing. About installing a level controller. I have 2 JL amps. a 600.4 and a 900.5 and both have the telephone wire port. Does this mean I have to get 2 controllers and can I run them in series?
They may have something that acts as a "splitter", but there's no guarantee that the level of the two amps will vary proportionately. How often would you need to change the relative levels, anyway? If it's set up properly, you should be able to use the head units' volume control most of the time, with only minor tweaking when you want balanced sound at low SPL, if you originally balanced everything at high SPL, or vice versa. If anything, if would be helpful if they had an In/Out/Through configuration, but that would require more parts and circuitry.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:01 AM.