Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Electrical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-03-2013, 10:07 PM
erervin erervin is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Boat: 2005 Mastercraft 197 TT
Location: Midwest
Posts: 71
Faria Depth Sounder Installation

Decided my last upgrade before summer would be the installation of the Faria Depth Sounder for my 2005 ProStar 197 TT. I had experience installing a Hummingbird depth sounder on my previous Tige’ Pre2000WT several years ago. On the Tige’ I just removed the hour meter and located it under the motor box and placed the sounder in its place on the dash; power and ground right there. The transducer was expoxied to the hull floor and that was it.

The 197 proved to be a bit more time consuming; about three hours total. That did include a few cold ones to decipher where and how it was to be installed. For those of you considering this mod, here are the steps I followed.

1. Removed the top two blank switch covers and fashioned a piece of hard black plastic to the contours and fastened it with clear Liquid Nail. Left overnight for the adhesive to cure.

2. Followed the instructions on the transducer instructions and used GE Silicon II to adhere the base ring to the hull. Left overnight for the adhesive to cure.

3. Next up was the most challenging and time consuming part of the project; running the transducer cable. I ran the cable from the back-side of the transmission on the hull floor where the transducer was to be mounted to the gauge location near the armrest. I basically followed the steering cable route, which proved to be tight in certain locations. I tried to be as careful as possible as to not dislodge and mare any cables already in place.

4. I then removed the negative battery cable and started with the power. I removed the four hex-screws on the left side switch panel to gain access to the auxiliary 1 switch (which was not being used). I had to use needle-nose pliers to hold the wing nuts on the back side while removing the screws. I used a test light to ensure I was getting power from the switched-wire rather than the constant.

5. Next was soldering a wire extension from the gauge to the switch. I removed about ¼” of insulation from the wire, wrapped it tightly and soldered the extension to the switch. I then reconnected the negative battery cable and after taping everything up, I successfully tested it. Resetting the switch panel took some time...

6. According to the transducer instructions, I placed 2.4 oz of antifreeze in the base ring so that the transducer was submerged in a liquid. Then I attached the transducer to the base ring and ensured there were no leaks. Zip-tied the cable for tidiness.
Attached Images
       
__________________
2005 ProStar 197 Tournament Team
#8 of 100
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-03-2013, 10:51 PM
j.mccreight@hotmail.com's Avatar
j.mccreight@hotmail.com j.mccreight@hotmail.com is offline
MC Maniac
 
Join Date: May 2010
Boat: 1989 MasterCraft TriStar 190 SE
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 3,359
Very nice write up, thanks
__________________
James

1989 MasterCraft TriStar 190 SE
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2015, 09:02 PM
ProStar Slalom's Avatar
ProStar Slalom ProStar Slalom is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Boat: 1984 S&S, 2001 19 Skier
Location: Southeast
Posts: 344
Threadjack here. I just purchased a Faria depth gauge which came with the same transducer described in the original post. I had not previously read this write-up, so was surprised by the complexity of the transducer install. As described above, the instructions say to first mount the base, then fill the base with anti-freeze, and then install the transducer. I thought most transducers would work fine with epoxy direct to the hull.

1. Anyone know if I can epoxy direct with this transducer?

2. I am on familiar, but shallow water most of the time. I don't want to be annoyed by a depth alarm when I don't need it, so was thinking about wiring to an accessory switch, which I think is what was described above. Any issues with accessory switch versus continuous power?

Thanks as always.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-13-2015, 12:39 AM
wake up wake up is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Boat: 01 x30
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 45
I originally wired my Faia to the ignition, but recently rewired it to an accesory switch, and glad I did. I followed the instructions for installing with silicone and anti-freeze. It wasnt hard to do and it works great. Expoxy apparently can interfere with the transducer.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-13-2015, 10:00 AM
CantRepeat's Avatar
CantRepeat CantRepeat is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Boat: 06 X30
Location: Roll Tide!!
Posts: 8,875
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProStar Slalom View Post
Threadjack here. I just purchased a Faria depth gauge which came with the same transducer described in the original post. I had not previously read this write-up, so was surprised by the complexity of the transducer install. As described above, the instructions say to first mount the base, then fill the base with anti-freeze, and then install the transducer. I thought most transducers would work fine with epoxy direct to the hull.

1. Anyone know if I can epoxy direct with this transducer?

2. I am on familiar, but shallow water most of the time. I don't want to be annoyed by a depth alarm when I don't need it, so was thinking about wiring to an accessory switch, which I think is what was described above. Any issues with accessory switch versus continuous power?

Thanks as always.
I'd call but I'm pretty sure you can just epoxy it to the hull. If they say no then I would send it back and get a different one.

Ideas.

http://universalmania.com/humminbird...c5ThoCupHw_wcB

Works with:
Quote:
For Humminbird Models:
Matrix Series: 10, 12, 15, 17, 20, 27, 67, 77, 87, 97
PiranhaMAX Series: All except 240
100 & 300 Series: All except DI
500 Series: All except DI models
600 Series: All except DI models
700 Series: All except DI models
800 Series: All except DI models
900 Series: All except DI & 3D models
1100 Series: All except DI models
HDR Series: HDR610, HDR650

and

http://www.amazon.com/Humminbird-407.../dp/B00417HG3W
__________________
Tim
Gone, surfing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 205er View Post
I drink wine and whine about it being too cold to drink beer....

Last edited by CantRepeat; 01-13-2015 at 10:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-13-2015, 11:33 AM
Ski-me's Avatar
Ski-me Ski-me is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Boat: Mastercraft, Prostar 205, 1994, LT1
Location: Rocky Mountains....Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,481
Quote:
Originally Posted by wake up View Post
I originally wired my Faia to the ignition, but recently rewired it to an accesory switch, and glad I did. I followed the instructions for installing with silicone and anti-freeze. It wasnt hard to do and it works great. Expoxy apparently can interfere with the transducer.
I did the same thing and installed the same Faria gauge as well. The ring is tilted/indexed and the intention is to get the transducer level so it is shooting directly downward. Rotating the ring in one direction or another allows for various hull angles.

Depending on the boat and hull location, if epoxied directly to the hull, some may be pointing at an angle. This would theoretically give an inaccurate reading. The antifreeze is to allow a fluid between the transducer and the hull bottom. IF there is an air gap, it creates error readings.
__________________
- Jeff

1994 205, LT1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-13-2015, 08:27 PM
ProStar Slalom's Avatar
ProStar Slalom ProStar Slalom is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Boat: 1984 S&S, 2001 19 Skier
Location: Southeast
Posts: 344
Ok, I'll install the transducer per the instructions and go with the accessory switch for power. Thanks to all for the help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:43 AM.