Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > General / Other

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-09-2016, 03:21 PM
Rocketboy's Avatar
Rocketboy Rocketboy is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Boat: 1993 Mastercraft BF 200 Yamaha 200
Location: Midwest
Posts: 270
Fuel Sending unit- Barefoot 200

My gas always shows full. Today I took the wires off at the sending unit and then it showed empty. When I would put it back on then it would go to full again. I am guessing the sending unit is bad.

Any idea where to find that???

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2016, 08:50 PM
MC197indy's Avatar
MC197indy MC197indy is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Boat: 2011 197 WTT MCX
Location: raglafarT
Posts: 341
If its a 2-wire should be easy to get one. make sure you get the same length as your old one. Amazon even has them.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-2016, 09:09 PM
Footin's Avatar
Footin Footin is offline
MC Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Boat: 2007 Maristar 200VRS X2
Location: Columbus,OH/Monticello,KY
Posts: 5,219
Do you have the Yamaha multi function gauge with the digital fuel bars on the side?
__________________
OH-IO!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-2016, 09:49 PM
Rocketboy's Avatar
Rocketboy Rocketboy is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Boat: 1993 Mastercraft BF 200 Yamaha 200
Location: Midwest
Posts: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Footin View Post
Do you have the Yamaha multi function gauge with the digital fuel bars on the side?
Yes- Shows 7/8's full all the time.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-09-2016, 09:53 PM
Rocketboy's Avatar
Rocketboy Rocketboy is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Boat: 1993 Mastercraft BF 200 Yamaha 200
Location: Midwest
Posts: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC197indy View Post
If its a 2-wire should be easy to get one. make sure you get the same length as your old one. Amazon even has them.
So any 2 wire the correct length should work?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-09-2016, 09:54 PM
Rocketboy's Avatar
Rocketboy Rocketboy is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Boat: 1993 Mastercraft BF 200 Yamaha 200
Location: Midwest
Posts: 270
I have tried to do some ohm testing but it said to set tester to 200 ohms and I am not sure how to do that on mine. I just have ohms...... not way to set to 200.

Mine shows full or 7/8. I take the wires off and it goes to empty. So that is why I am thinking it is the sending unit.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-10-2016, 12:42 AM
MC197indy's Avatar
MC197indy MC197indy is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Boat: 2011 197 WTT MCX
Location: raglafarT
Posts: 341
post a pic of your sending unit.

Just make sure the 2-wire sending unit, is the same style, Try looking up the Moeller Sending units. You should be good.

You do not set your meter to 200 ohms. You set the meter to ohms setting to read how many ohms the sending unit is outputting . Touch the meter leads to the sending unit wires, one lead to one wire each.

If you sending unit does not have the float on it, Best to test it while it is in the tank. The Sending Unit sends between 30 - 230 ohms to the fuel gauge, depending on the fuel level. 30 ohms is full - 230 empty. So should test between 30 - 230 ohm. If it test 30 ohm and you tank is not full, take it out and test it. When out it should test 230 ohm.

I also have a bad sending unit, but mine is a 3 -wire with a float, and can not find any where but the Dealer - $140!?!?

Last edited by MC197indy; 10-10-2016 at 01:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-10-2016, 09:01 AM
Rocketboy's Avatar
Rocketboy Rocketboy is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Boat: 1993 Mastercraft BF 200 Yamaha 200
Location: Midwest
Posts: 270
Here it is.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-10-2016, 01:23 PM
MC197indy's Avatar
MC197indy MC197indy is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Boat: 2011 197 WTT MCX
Location: raglafarT
Posts: 341
No sure if this is it, looks like it may be

http://greatlakesskipper.com/yamaha-...k-sending-unit

I have not had experience with that style unit,
Maybe some one else can chime in on it>
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-10-2016, 01:32 PM
MC197indy's Avatar
MC197indy MC197indy is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Boat: 2011 197 WTT MCX
Location: raglafarT
Posts: 341
I know I have seen some like that online in my search, cant remember where else.

Here is link to for a Team Talk that unit looks similar to yours, sounds like it may be possible to repair it
https://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk...ad.php?t=38453

Potentially your float may be stuck up at the top.

Last edited by MC197indy; 10-10-2016 at 01:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:34 PM.