Go Back   TeamTalk > Off Topic > Off Topic Discussion

Old 02-17-2013, 05:21 PM
TT Hero

Boat: 2005 X-STAR & 1993 Prostar 190 Limited
Business 101 question

Let me start by stating I did not go to school for business, nor do I have a business degree.

With that said, what is the typical rule when it comes to assessing a value of a business?

For instance, is the value of a business based on weekly gross sales or weekly net profit?
At what percentage of that figure?

I've been told in my business (wholesale meat making a very small margin compared to anything retail) the value is figured at 16X the weekly gross sales.
(example, a business that has $10K gross sales per week is valued at $160K.)
Make any sense?
Old 02-17-2013, 05:42 PM
TT Enthusiast

Boat: 2004 MasterCraft Prostar 209
Jersey Dave, I'm a CPA near Indianapolis Indiana.

Valuing a business varies depending on the industry, however, there are definitely a couple of basics to consider when assigning a "price".

In my specific industry, Tax & Accounting businesses are typically valued at GROSS INCOME for 1 year. (plus some other costs which I will explain)

With any business and any industry, there's always a "goodwill" factor that plays into the cost. Think of goodwill as a premium on the purchase price which depends upon: Reputation, Name, Internal Processes, etc.

For instance, a business that has existed for 30 years versus a business that begin a year ago will cost more to purchase even if both of those businesses have identical annual profits.

I Hope this helps a little bit. FYI, there is an actual designation and/or license that some individuals obtain to perform official "business valuations". I'm pretty sure they are just referred to as Business Valuation Experts. I would recommend ANYONE selling an established business to hire one of these experts. Sure it may cost some money to hire this person, but think about what's at stake.
Old 02-17-2013, 09:21 PM
MC Maniac