Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Engine / Drive Train

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-20-2014, 10:36 PM
Topp dawg Topp dawg is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Boat: 2003 Mastercraft X10
Location: Southeast
Posts: 155
High oil pressure help.

I have a 2003 mc x10 with predator 5.7 indmar engine and my oil pressure gauge stays maxed out when the engine is running. I have replaced the oil pressure sending unit already. I have a new gauge. And when I disconnect the wire from the sending unit the gauge drops to zero. Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-20-2014, 10:47 PM
brent79 brent79 is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Boat: 1988 tristar 190
Location: midwest
Posts: 14
Did you check the oil pressure with a mechanical gauge maybe you do have high oil pressure?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-21-2014, 07:46 AM
Topp dawg Topp dawg is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Boat: 2003 Mastercraft X10
Location: Southeast
Posts: 155
If I truly had high oil pressure would the gauge max out instantly upon startup? Or would it take a few minutes for the gauge to rise and then be maxed out?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-21-2014, 08:24 AM
CantRepeat's Avatar
CantRepeat CantRepeat is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Boat: 06 X30
Location: Roll Tide!!
Posts: 8,078
Sounds like you have a bad gauge. If it was a short in the sense wire the gauge would stay pegged when you removed the wire from the sensor. What happens if you take the sense wire and ground to engine? Does the gauge peg?

Some internet stuffs.

http://www.ehow.com/how_7898711_test...re-sensor.html
__________________
Tim
Gone, surfing.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-21-2014, 08:51 AM
Topp dawg Topp dawg is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Boat: 2003 Mastercraft X10
Location: Southeast
Posts: 155
When I remove the wire from the sending unit while the engine is on the gauge instantly drops to zero. When I plug the wire back into the sending unit the gauge maxes out. My Oil pressure gauge is new as well. When I unplug the gauge while the engine is running the gauge drops to zero and when I plug the gauge back in the gauge instantly maxes out.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-21-2014, 09:17 AM
CantRepeat's Avatar
CantRepeat CantRepeat is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Boat: 06 X30
Location: Roll Tide!!
Posts: 8,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by Topp dawg View Post
When I remove the wire from the sending unit while the engine is on the gauge instantly drops to zero. When I plug the wire back into the sending unit the gauge maxes out. My Oil pressure gauge is new as well. When I unplug the gauge while the engine is running the gauge drops to zero and when I plug the gauge back in the gauge instantly maxes out.
With the key on and engine off what happens when you pull the sensor wire off at the engine?
__________________
Tim
Gone, surfing.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-21-2014, 09:30 AM
Topp dawg Topp dawg is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Boat: 2003 Mastercraft X10
Location: Southeast
Posts: 155
with the key on and the engine off the gauge reads zero.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-21-2014, 09:31 AM
Topp dawg Topp dawg is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Boat: 2003 Mastercraft X10
Location: Southeast
Posts: 155
the gauge only responds when the engine is on.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-21-2014, 10:42 AM
CantRepeat's Avatar
CantRepeat CantRepeat is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Boat: 06 X30
Location: Roll Tide!!
Posts: 8,078
Well, from what I know and have read the only way to test the gauge is by putting a resistor on it. What the resistor does is act like the sensor but you are taking the sensor and wiring out of the loop. If it still reads bad then its the gauge that is malfunctioning.
__________________
Tim
Gone, surfing.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-21-2014, 10:54 AM
Topp dawg Topp dawg is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Boat: 2003 Mastercraft X10
Location: Southeast
Posts: 155
If I have a blockage or truly high pressure would the gauge instantly max out or would it take several minutes and slowly climb to 80?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:19 AM.