Go Back   TeamTalk > General MasterCraft Topics > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-16-2013, 09:58 PM
helton333's Avatar
helton333 helton333 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 494
2003 205v sending unit

I replaced one on a 1989 MC years ago and didn't have to calibrate. Saw a couple messages about recalibrating- would that apply to this model? Not sure how to do that- I am guessing the issue is the sending unit because the gauge problems started first time after winter layup in a heated garage- had about 3/4 tank of gas. Then gradually started reading more accurate as the day went on- I just know nothing on a boat ever truly gets better on its own so thought I'd go ahead and replace it- is it not just bolt and go? Thanks for any help.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-16-2013, 10:04 PM
FoggyNogginz's Avatar
FoggyNogginz FoggyNogginz is online now
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Boat: 1998 PS205, then a 2002 X9, and now a 2012 X14V
Location: Center Hill Lake & Old Hickory
Posts: 704
Normally, there are two screws to adjust...right where those two rusty spots are on the sender. This will allow you to adjust when the gauge shows EMPTY and FULL. I always set mine to lie to me a little on the EMPTY setting, which keeps me from running out of gas.
__________________
----------------------------------

"KC"

Cmon...lemme just push one button...
- Red X14V on Center Hill & Old Hickory lakes in TN -
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-16-2013, 10:19 PM
helton333's Avatar
helton333 helton333 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 494
It appears the factory put some sort of epoxy over those screws- doesn't appear to be rust- ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-16-2013, 10:24 PM
TOO-TALL's Avatar
TOO-TALL TOO-TALL is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Boat: Mastercraft X2 2003 mcx
Location: Kankakee,IL
Posts: 1,674
yes its epoxy.just scratch off. adjust the unit then put some silicone back on the screw heads.did this to mine and worked like a charm
__________________
"Hey baby want to make fourteen dollars the hard way?"--Rondhey Dangerfeild-Caddy Shack.


"Was it over when the German's bombed pearl harbor ?"
---Animal house
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-17-2013, 02:18 PM
helton333's Avatar
helton333 helton333 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 494
so can someone tell me how to calibrate a new one? I can easily understand you fill the boat up and then calibrate to full. Is that it or do you still have to calibrate empty. If that's the case, how the heck do you know when it's empty unless you run it out of gas. I am sure this is a dumb question)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-22-2013, 01:29 PM
FoggyNogginz's Avatar
FoggyNogginz FoggyNogginz is online now
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Boat: 1998 PS205, then a 2002 X9, and now a 2012 X14V
Location: Center Hill Lake & Old Hickory
Posts: 704
Just run it as low as you're comfortable with, and then set it to EMPTY. Take a few gallons with you in a portable tank if you'd like. That's what I did.
__________________
----------------------------------

"KC"

Cmon...lemme just push one button...
- Red X14V on Center Hill & Old Hickory lakes in TN -
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-22-2013, 04:34 PM
HRC HRC is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Boat: 2001 Prostar 205V
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 201
I did a google search for Centoid products then called them. I gave them the exact numbers on the unit and they sent me a new pre-calibrated unit in under a week for only $64 plus shipping which was less than $10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:06 PM.