Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Engine / Drive Train

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2012, 04:02 PM
wakescene's Avatar
wakescene wakescene is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Boat: 2001 Maristar 210VRS, LTR 330HP, ZeroFlex Tower, KGB Ballast, PerfectPass Wakeboard Pro,
Location: Jersey, no particular exit!
Posts: 225
Aftermarket ECM's/ECU's

Anyone have a source for ECM/ECU in the aftermarket.

I have a 2001 LTR 330hp that's got a bad ECU. I can only imagine what the new one would cost from the dealer...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-02-2012, 04:16 PM
LYNRDSKYNRD's Avatar
LYNRDSKYNRD LYNRDSKYNRD is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Boat: 1987 PROSTAR 190
Location: Alabama
Posts: 482
Maybe these would work

http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_nkw=...+ecu&_osacat=0
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-03-2012, 08:47 AM
Jim@BAWS's Avatar
Jim@BAWS Jim@BAWS is offline
MC Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Boat: 1996 PS 190 LT-1/Powerslot
Location: Land O Lakes. FL
Posts: 5,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by wakescene View Post
Anyone have a source for ECM/ECU in the aftermarket.

I have a 2001 LTR 330hp that's got a bad ECU. I can only imagine what the new one would cost from the dealer...
Unless I am msitaken...the ECM and or ECUs are prorgrammed for the specfic engine
that are marinized by what ever company. A PCM programmed ECM will not work on a
INDMAR engine

On occasion they can be reflashed and updated. If you where to take you ECm to your
dealer he could check it for you
__________________
James (Jim) Kranendonk Pres-BAWS
Tampa Bay's Exclusive MasterCraft Dealer

www.BAYAREAWATERSPORTS.com
(813) 996-BAWS (2297)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-03-2012, 09:05 AM
Flatwaterfooter Flatwaterfooter is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Boat: 2006 PS 197
Location: NH
Posts: 377
Is the ECM unit different than the DEP Unit?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-03-2012, 09:47 AM
CantRepeat's Avatar
CantRepeat CantRepeat is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Boat: 06 X30
Location: Roll Tide!!
Posts: 8,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by wakescene View Post
Anyone have a source for ECM/ECU in the aftermarket.

I have a 2001 LTR 330hp that's got a bad ECU. I can only imagine what the new one would cost from the dealer...
I don't know about a dealer, but I believe Indmar charges $1000 + for new ECMs.

Jim is correct, the ECMs are calibrated for each application, but most of the Indmar CAL files are available to dealers. Using the DIACOM software a dealer, or anyone that knows how to use the software can reprogram the MEFI 4 ECUs.
__________________
Tim
Gone, surfing.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-03-2012, 09:58 AM
CantRepeat's Avatar
CantRepeat CantRepeat is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Boat: 06 X30
Location: Roll Tide!!
Posts: 8,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by LYNRDSKYNRD View Post

These will not work. They are MEFI 5 ECMs and the OP has either a MEFI3 or MEFI 4 ECM and my money is on a 4.
__________________
Tim
Gone, surfing.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-03-2012, 05:57 PM
ranger098 ranger098 is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Boat: 2004 mastercraft x2
Location: midwest
Posts: 37
i had a similar problem where i needed an ECU for my 04 x2 Indmar predator 310 with a MEFI 4. take my advice and just spend the money on a new ECU from the factory. they are very specific to your boat and it will be extremely hard to find the right one used. if you did find one used, it would either have to be for your exact boat or you would have to pay to have the engine manufacturer reprogram the ECU.

i ended up paying almost exactly 1000 for my ECU, but it saved me alot of time and headaches. it sucks, but ECU's are expensive and i just had to accept that. good luck !
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-03-2012, 06:09 PM
wakescene's Avatar
wakescene wakescene is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Boat: 2001 Maristar 210VRS, LTR 330HP, ZeroFlex Tower, KGB Ballast, PerfectPass Wakeboard Pro,
Location: Jersey, no particular exit!
Posts: 225
Question

Good info gents, I do appreciate it.

NEW QUESTIONS:
If the ECM were to go bad, would the motor still run? Also, I am under the impression that the gauges are also run off the ECM. Again if the ECM were bad, would the gauges still work (work meaning, turning the key to the ACC setting and having them reset before firing up the motor?).

Thanks again.
Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-03-2012, 06:26 PM
CantRepeat's Avatar
CantRepeat CantRepeat is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Boat: 06 X30
Location: Roll Tide!!
Posts: 8,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by wakescene View Post
Good info gents, I do appreciate it.

NEW QUESTIONS:
If the ECM were to go bad, would the motor still run? Also, I am under the impression that the gauges are also run off the ECM. Again if the ECM were bad, would the gauges still work (work meaning, turning the key to the ACC setting and having them reset before firing up the motor?).

Thanks again.
Kevin
Hey Kevin,

Maybe we'd be able to offer more help if you explained exactly what your boat is doing or not doing.
__________________
Tim
Gone, surfing.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-03-2012, 07:05 PM
ranger098 ranger098 is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Boat: 2004 mastercraft x2
Location: midwest
Posts: 37
it depends on what exactly is wrong with your ecu, i would imagine your engine could still run if there is a minor problem with the ECU. i agree with above, we need a better description of whats working and not working. also let us know what kind of engine you have (indmar, PCM etc)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:44 AM.