Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Audio/Stereo

Old 06-27-2012, 01:45 PM
TT Enthusiast

Boat: 2008 x star. 6.0l
Mind= blown

So on Saturday I'm driving my boat in the no wake zone stereo about half way up then bam the interior speakers and one set of tower speakers just shut off I'm like ***? So I turn the stereo off turn it back on and still nothing. My amps are installed in such a way that they are kind of impossible to work on without removing the amp rack. So when I get home I move the amp rack to get look at the connections. I tested both amps pos and neg checked all my grounds and tested my remote wire. Checked fuses and even tested both sides of the fuse while powered. Now I'm no dummy with electricity I'm a journey electrician I used a real multimeter. So I called zapco and told them what I just typed and they are completely baffled lol he keeps telling me it's something in the install of the boat but I've tested everything twice. I know they didn't overheat because it wasn't on that long or loud enough and I have 6 fans and a vent cut in. It's not a crossed speaker wire that doesn't explain two for different sets of speakers. So long story short I sent them to zapco but before I did I opened the top plate on both and seen zero signs of burns or arcing no funny smells or anything. Just wanted to see some of your thoughts
Old 06-27-2012, 01:59 PM
TT Regular

Boat: 2002 Prostar 209 - SammyD Edition
Ok lets think about this reasonably. What are the correlations between the one set of tower speakers and the interior speakers? Are they on the same amp?

Also did you check your rca connections at the head unit?
Old 06-27-2012, 03:20 PM
MC Devotee

Boat: 2002 X Star
Did the low voltage alarm go off? I would start with charging the battery or batteries fully and then go from there.

2002 X Star
Sold - 76 S&S
Old 06-27-2012, 03:51 PM
TT Enthusiast

Two separate amps only thing in common with the two is they power mids n highs