Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Audio/Stereo

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-27-2012, 11:40 AM
Nolan Nolan is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Boat: Mastercraft, prostar 190, 2001, 330
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Ipod adaptor to Clarion XMD1

My prostar has Clarion Marine XMD1 stereo. Is there anyway to add an Ipod interface?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-28-2012, 08:09 AM
jafo9's Avatar
jafo9 jafo9 is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Boat: 2002 X30 LTR
Location: Southeast
Posts: 1,119
http://www.planetnautique.com/vb3/sh...light=XMD+ipod

i know it's from *gasp* the PN site, but its all you need.

here's the meat and potatoes...

OK guys, here is a quick "how-to" so you can make your own cable. Sorry for the lack of pictures.

1.) order the following parts from www.buxcomm.com
1 x 1313 pin DIN male plug wired to all 13 pins Cable is 6 FT-. (13D) =$9.95
1 x SW551 S.P.S.T. ON OFF toggle switch. (SW551) = $1.45
1 x 3535ST 6 CABLE with 3.5mm or 1 8 STEREO PHONE PLUGS (3535ST) = $1.95

2.) cut a slit into the free end of the DIN connector. Peel it open, and expose all the wires.

3.) Find the Green, White, Grey, Purple, and Blue wires.
4.) Strip these wires.
5.) Connect the green wire to one of the switch terminals
6.) Connect the white wire to the other swith terminal
7.) cut one end of 3535ST off.
8.) Slit the now free end of 3535ST, and peel it back. Inside you will see two shielded wires, and one non-shielded.
9.) Strip the ends of the shieled wire.
10.) connect one of the stripped wires to the grey wire from the DIN connector.
11.) connect the other stripped wire to the purple wire from the din connector.
12.) connect the non-shielded wire to the blue wire from the din connector.
13.) Wrap it all up in electrical tape, plug both ends in and voila.

I found it easiest to melt the insulation off the wires, as they were all so thin. Just use a lighter, let it burn, then use your fingernails to peel the burned stuff off and expose the wire.

use solder on the switch. you can get away without it by using connectors availalbe at any parts store.

Use heat shrink at all wire junctions.

Enjoy


--I basically used this recipe but i wanted a clean install so i mounted the switch and a marine female headphone socket under the armrest right next to the kill switch. now i can plug in anytime i want. its not ideal as it doesn't charge and play and you can't control the iPod from the radio, but it was cheap and relatively easy. IIRC i also used a different marine grade switch i sourced from blue seas and i soldered and heat shrinked every connection. hey.. its an MC, i'm supposed to be anal. good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2017, 11:59 AM
DGorvetzian DGorvetzian is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Boat: MasterCraft X10 2003
Location: Southwest
Posts: 1
Thanks for posting this; I can't believe I waited so long to do a web search on this!! I ordered my parts and built my cable and everything works, but...

When the switch is in one position, it plays from the iPod. When it's in the other position, the head unit displays DISC and apparently wants to play from the local CD. I either position, the other controls are useless, which means I can't select radio band. That can't be right.

I don't think I wired anything wrong, but I don't understand why I can't select the radio bands. Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2017, 05:12 PM
3event's Avatar
3event 3event is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Boat: 2002 PS197
Location: WI
Posts: 1,092
I set this up years ago and has worked fine other than picking up noise. I got a small bluetooth receiver and can now cut the long cable down to put the BT receiver in the glove box to cut out the noise but haven't gotten around to it.

All I could suggest is try hitting the MODE button on your remote and on your Clarion deck (I think it is BAND on the deck) to switch from DISC to FM etc - have you tried that? Or you could try inserting and then ejecting a disc to see if that would unfreeze the mode selection.
__________________
2002 ProStar 197
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-10-2017, 07:06 PM
P-hat_in_Cincy's Avatar
P-hat_in_Cincy P-hat_in_Cincy is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Boat: MasterCraft Prostar 205V "wakeboard edition", 2004
Location: Greater Cincinnati
Posts: 1,469
Can't you use the aux input and an RCA to lightning adapter?

Adapter https://www.walmart.com/ip/iSimple-I...&wl13=&veh=sem

Edit: Sorry...I was thinking I had an XMD1, but I have an XMD3. I run the aux RCA to the old iPhone 32pin connector but I added a Bluetooth adapter, which still gets charged from the connection.
__________________
2004 MasterCraft Prostar 205v 'Wakeboard Edition'
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:13 PM.