Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Electrical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-01-2012, 08:53 PM
Philscbx's Avatar
Philscbx Philscbx is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2011
Boat: 78 S&S, 04 Pro 209
Location: Mn, Minnetonka
Posts: 276
VERY NICE, Thank You.
Seeing something in real time, makes all difference.
Camera Views were sharp & well lit, Star for your fridge.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-08-2015, 05:42 PM
04 Star Rider 04 Star Rider is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Boat: 2004 Mastercraft X-Star
Location: Michigan
Posts: 955
Has anyone ever been successful converting a 3 wire floatless sending unit to a 2 wire unit with a float? What do each of the 3 wires do?
__________________
2004 X-Star
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-09-2015, 12:30 AM
paintpollz's Avatar
paintpollz paintpollz is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Boat: 2002 Prostar 197
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 1,048
why isn't this a sticky. this should be a sticky in the electrical forum.
__________________
Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-08-2017, 01:41 PM
Smogg's Avatar
Smogg Smogg is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Boat: 2002 X-10
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 53
I have a 2002 X10 and its reading full all the time. I am using a calibrated Fluke 702 to send a signal to the gauge.

This is what I'm seeing:
800ohms is displaying Empty
708ohms is displaying 1/2 a tank
610ohms is displaying full
My sending unit is reading 264.8ohms with a full tank of gas.

Does anyone know if the gauge in my boat has a different range? So far all I'm seeing is the 33 to 240 range and it seems to be universal.

Thanks!!
This is an awesome thread....helped allot!!

Last edited by Smogg; 08-08-2017 at 04:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-30-2017, 02:27 PM
Smogg's Avatar
Smogg Smogg is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Boat: 2002 X-10
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 53
New Fuel Gauge Reads Tank When Empty

I would like to add a little extra to this in hopes of saving someone some money. I had a fuel gauge that was reading full all the time on my 2002 X10. I purchased a new OEM sending unit ($109.00) and was still having problems. With the sending unit removed from the tank, I was getting a reading of about 3/8 on the gauge and pegged beyond full when inserted about 1/2 way into a full tank of gas. I tried the calibration procedure that is available on the Centroid Website to no avail. So I guessed that I must have a bad fuel gauge. I ordered a new gauge ($160.00) and installed it only to find it still does the same thing. At this point I was speculating that I was sent either a wrong or defective sending unit. On a whim, I decided to call Centroid Products to inquire about one of their sending units as a replacement. Mari was very helpful and she quickly established that they were the manufacturer of my newly purchased sending unit. I was put in touch with engineer Joel who was able to get me pointed in the right direction.

The first step was to check the voltage between the Black and Pink wires on the 3 wire connector that goes to the sending unit which read 7.22vdc. The problem is that the voltage between “display Send” (pink) and “display ground” (Black) should be exactly 7.00vdc. That means “display ground” is at (7.22vdc - 7.0vdc = ) 0.22 volts rather than 0 volts. When “display ground” is 0.22v, it makes the 2.81v empty signal from the sender look like (2.81 - 0.22 =) 2.59vdc to the display, which as you can see from the black table below is a 1/4 tank reading. Joel included some drawings and of a typical location (under the helm) of an MDC and pictures of the MDC plug.

The fix was to jumper the ground wire from the MDC to a nearby ground bus located under the helm. The Ground wire on my MDC is pin #24 on my 24 pin plug. It took all of 10 min to connect in a wire splice and BAM! fixed. If you have an 18 pin connector its pin 2C.







Last edited by Smogg; 08-31-2017 at 01:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-30-2017, 09:13 PM
mtajpa's Avatar
mtajpa mtajpa is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Boat: MC 1999 Maristar 230 sport
Location: Southwest
Posts: 979
Thats good info. I assume you have the 3 wire sender?
__________________
99 MariStar 230 Sport LTR 330
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-30-2017, 10:41 PM
petemay121 petemay121 is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Boat: Mastercraft, ProStar 190, 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 25
Send a message via Skype™ to petemay121
Great post! Very informative.
__________________
2001 ProStar 190 330hp LTR
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-31-2017, 12:51 AM
Smogg's Avatar
Smogg Smogg is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Boat: 2002 X-10
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtajpa View Post
Thats good info. I assume you have the 3 wire sender?
Yes I have a 3 wire sensor
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-31-2017, 12:53 AM
Smogg's Avatar
Smogg Smogg is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Boat: 2002 X-10
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by petemay121 View Post
Great post! Very informative.
Thanks! I hope to keep someone from making the same mistakes I did....heh...live and learn
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:17 PM.