Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Audio/Stereo

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-03-2012, 12:34 AM
AZX9's Avatar
AZX9 AZX9 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Boat: 2003 Mastercraft X9, MXC 350
Location: Phoenix,Az / Az West Coast
Posts: 352
Clarion remote wire configuration

I am looking to replace my original head unit to a new unit that has an iPod hookup. It's also has some damage to the plastic that makes it very hard to see what is being displayed. It's a 2003 head unit and remote. My delima is that I want to retain the remote by the driver station. If I replace the head unit is it a common remote plug so that it will most likely work with the new unit? I'm not apposed to replacing the remote but re routing a remote cable seams like a nightmare as it surely goes under the floor. Best case I would like to plug the new unit into the pigtail that is "industry standard" if their is such a thing. Second would be a head unit and new remote pluged into the existing remote extension cord. Again if they are somewhat standard. The functions of a basic remote have not changed over the years. Volume, ship/search, pause, mode, etc so I'm hoping the pin configuration is maybe the same? Does anyone know if these remote extension cords are somewhat standard? Don't have my boat, still in the gel shop for first run of the season damage.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-03-2012, 05:27 AM
epnault's Avatar
epnault epnault is online now
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Boat: MasterCraft ProStar 209X9 & ProStar 190 LT1-Powerslot
Location: Twin Cities and Northern WI Cabin
Posts: 650
I converted my '02 stereo to a CMD6 a couple years ago. I can tell you the old remote would not work and I couldn't find an adapter either. I felt the same way about routing a new extension cord to but on my prostar the cable is routed through the glassed in PVC tubes along the gunwales from the drivers seat to the front of the bow and back to the glove box. What I did is disconnect the old remote and used the old extension cord as my fish tape by duct taping the old cord to the new one. Then remove all your bow cushions and bow speakers for access if need to help route. Then I had my wife pull gently on the stereo end on the cord as I followed on the under side of the boat. Just take your time and it should go smoothly. The new remotes are worth it if you are putting in a new deck. It has a digital display and a ton of functionality especially if you are working with an IPod. You can see the song and artist, move through playlists, and many more. Good luck
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-03-2012, 09:13 AM
HRC HRC is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Boat: 2001 Prostar 205V
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by epnault View Post
I converted my '02 stereo to a CMD6 a couple years ago. I can tell you the old remote would not work and I couldn't find an adapter either. I felt the same way about routing a new extension cord to but on my prostar the cable is routed through the glassed in PVC tubes along the gunwales from the drivers seat to the front of the bow and back to the glove box. What I did is disconnect the old remote and used the old extension cord as my fish tape by duct taping the old cord to the new one. Then remove all your bow cushions and bow speakers for access if need to help route. Then I had my wife pull gently on the stereo end on the cord as I followed on the under side of the boat. Just take your time and it should go smoothly. The new remotes are worth it if you are putting in a new deck. It has a digital display and a ton of functionality especially if you are working with an IPod. You can see the song and artist, move through playlists, and many more. Good luck
I've got an '01 Prostar and was wondering just how to get the from upholstery out. I can't get my arms behind there to take the nuts loose from the side cushions.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-03-2012, 11:31 AM
AZX9's Avatar
AZX9 AZX9 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Boat: 2003 Mastercraft X9, MXC 350
Location: Phoenix,Az / Az West Coast
Posts: 352
Quote:
Originally Posted by epnault View Post
I converted my '02 stereo to a CMD6 a couple years ago. I can tell you the old remote would not work and I couldn't find an adapter either. I felt the same way about routing a new extension cord to but on my prostar the cable is routed through the glassed in PVC tubes along the gunwales from the drivers seat to the front of the bow and back to the glove box. What I did is disconnect the old remote and used the old extension cord as my fish tape by duct taping the old cord to the new one. Then remove all your bow cushions and bow speakers for access if need to help route. Then I had my wife pull gently on the stereo end on the cord as I followed on the under side of the boat. Just take your time and it should go smoothly. The new remotes are worth it if you are putting in a new deck. It has a digital display and a ton of functionality especially if you are working with an IPod. You can see the song and artist, move through playlists, and many more. Good luck
Was the remote wire zip tied or was it fairly loose around the nose. I can see this as a fiberglass rash nightmare. I should have the boat back this weekend to see how it's routed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-03-2012, 11:38 AM
epnault's Avatar
epnault epnault is online now
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Boat: MasterCraft ProStar 209X9 & ProStar 190 LT1-Powerslot
Location: Twin Cities and Northern WI Cabin
Posts: 650
I have a 209 with an X9 tower.

Yes-I had to contort my not so small body (6'1" 235) to make sure I was getting the routing properly. I don't recall them using any zip ties but at a couple points I remember a one loop rap around the small PVC tube. Yes, I did get some fiberglass rash but it wasn't bad and has healed nicely . In my opinion there is no need to remove the side cushions. Take your seat cushions out and also remove your speakers and you should be able to get enought access. By the way, this was the first and only time I have done this so it is do-able. The key is to use your old cable as your router.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-03-2012, 11:39 AM
02ProstarSammyD 02ProstarSammyD is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Boat: 2002 Prostar 209 - SammyD Edition
Location: Southeast
Posts: 1,823
Quote:
I've got an '01 Prostar and was wondering just how to get the from upholstery out. I can't get my arms behind there to take the nuts loose from the side cushions.
PITA! Hopefully you have the worlds smallest hands. The remote is held in by a u bracket. I changed mine when I had the panel off. Be careful though! The bolts that hold the side panel on are just attached to the thin plastic and it will pull through and leave you with an issue.

The remote will not work. You will have to buy a new remote/cable. I found mine online for like 75 bucks+ 20 sumin for the 25' cable. The remotes only come with a stub of a connector (6" or so")

Price to pay for having the ipod hookup unfortunately. At that point you might as well buy 2, get the y adaptor and put in a transom remote too
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-03-2012, 12:03 PM
tr6coug's Avatar
tr6coug tr6coug is online now
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Boat: Mastercraft 2007 X2 MCX
Location: OR
Posts: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by AZX9 View Post
I am looking to replace my original head unit to a new unit that has an iPod hookup. It's also has some damage to the plastic that makes it very hard to see what is being displayed. It's a 2003 head unit and remote. My delima is that I want to retain the remote by the driver station. If I replace the head unit is it a common remote plug so that it will most likely work with the new unit? I'm not apposed to replacing the remote but re routing a remote cable seams like a nightmare as it surely goes under the floor. Best case I would like to plug the new unit into the pigtail that is "industry standard" if their is such a thing. Second would be a head unit and new remote pluged into the existing remote extension cord. Again if they are somewhat standard. The functions of a basic remote have not changed over the years. Volume, ship/search, pause, mode, etc so I'm hoping the pin configuration is maybe the same? Does anyone know if these remote extension cords are somewhat standard? Don't have my boat, still in the gel shop for first run of the season damage.
The 2003 remote has a 6-pin plug. This is compatible with the Clarion CMD4, 4A, 5, and the M475 (single DIN size). The Clarion CMD6, 7, M309 all changed to an 8-pin plug. these are compatible with your remote, but would need an adapter cable to convert the 6-pin plug to an 8-pin plug.
__________________
'07 Navy Blue X2 MCX
http://www.wakeblaster.com/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-03-2012, 01:43 PM
02ProstarSammyD 02ProstarSammyD is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Boat: 2002 Prostar 209 - SammyD Edition
Location: Southeast
Posts: 1,823
^ http://www.clarion.com/ca/en/product...404168827.html


No kidding! Glad I just replaced both of my remotes!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-03-2012, 02:29 PM
epnault's Avatar
epnault epnault is online now
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Boat: MasterCraft ProStar 209X9 & ProStar 190 LT1-Powerslot
Location: Twin Cities and Northern WI Cabin
Posts: 650
They justed released to pre-order the RF wireless waterproof remote again. For some reason they did not ship last season but the guy from Crutchfield said they were just informated by Clarion this week that they are shipping this spring and to start taking orders. Now we don't have to swim back to the boat and change the volume or song

http://www.crutchfield.com/app/cart/default.aspx
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-03-2012, 10:07 PM
AZX9's Avatar
AZX9 AZX9 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Boat: 2003 Mastercraft X9, MXC 350
Location: Phoenix,Az / Az West Coast
Posts: 352
My head unit is not visible from anywhere in the boat other that right over the glove box. Does it need direct sight to work?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:22 AM.