Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Electrical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-21-2012, 09:57 AM
Cguse13's Avatar
Cguse13 Cguse13 is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Boat: Mastercraft 205 prostar 1996
Location: Central
Posts: 43
Battery iso for dual bat. How big

I run two battery on perko switch wanting to switch over to the lazy mans way but how do I know how many amps I need to purchase. 100, 200, 500 amp switch. Can someone shed light on this.

What I have:

2 blue tops 34s
3 crappy amps.
Ballast puppy
And stock accessory's

96 prostar 205
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2012, 10:43 AM
bturner2's Avatar
bturner2 bturner2 is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Boat: Maristar 200VRS w/ X2 Package, 2007, 310HP
Location: Brighton, MI
Posts: 2,240
I used the "add a battery" kit from Blue Seas and left it at that. Works great on my 07 X2 with two blue tops and 2 JL Audio amps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2012, 12:03 PM
Lumbergh's Avatar
Lumbergh Lumbergh is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Boat: 1991 ProStar 190
Location: Seattle
Posts: 732
I bought a Battery Doctor 150A from Amazon, it was about $70. Simple wiring, seems to work good so far.

Probably overkill, but "buy once, cry once".
__________________
1991 ProStar / 351W with 1:1 Velvet Drive
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-21-2012, 12:18 PM
agarabaghi agarabaghi is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Boat: 1994 Mastercraft Prostar 205
Location: Southeast
Posts: 1,810
battery doctor seems to work great for me.

what is the amp rating on your amps? that will give you an idea
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:41 AM.