Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Audio/Stereo

Old 03-01-2012, 11:18 AM
TT Enthusiast

Boat: Mastercraft X-Star 2004 MCX
HLCD speaker for the 2004 tower speaker pods

I am finally replacing my stereo in my 2004 X-star and I am looking for some HLCD's to go in my tower speaker pods. I have the older style pods that accept 6.5" speakers. I am replacing the in boat speakers with Wetsounds XS-650 and was hoping to keep my speaker pods and replace the speakers with HLCD's. Wetsounds only sells HLCD's with pods so is there any other speakers that people are using in their tower? Does Wetsounds sell their HLCD's with out the speaker pods?

Heres a picture of the set up as it is.

Old 03-01-2012, 11:33 AM
MC Devotee

Boat: 2000 230 VRS
The only podless options I'm aware of are the Krypt and Kicker HLCDs. I have no experience with either but have been paying attention because I'd be interested in throwing some in my pods if the price was right.

Some people seem pretty happy with the Krypts and they can be had for under $200 per pair on eBay. Others say they're Chinese junk.

People seem pretty happy with the Kicker KM6500.2 HLCD component set but they require 4 pods as the tweeters take up a whole 6.5" pod. They can be had for $500 new or $280 refurbished.
Old 03-01-2012, 12:16 PM
MC Fanatic

Boat: TBD
In this particular case, the Kicker HLCD is not an option because it is component style and requires four pods to house one set of speakers (two horns & two midbass). However, when you use the dual midbass version of this speaker (requiring six pods) it sounds pretty good.