Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Ballast

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2011, 05:55 PM
willyt's Avatar
willyt willyt is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: May 2009
Boat: ER xstar
Location: high in the middle and round on both ends
Posts: 1,877
ballast hose/Impellers

So... some background:

my port and starboard 750's were filling unevenly, the port would beat the starboard to full every time, thus i thought this might be an impeller issue.

Took a wakeboard set a few weeks ago as well. Still recovering from knee surgery so i can just ride around, not comfortable enough to jump yet. Told the driver i didnt need any ballast and to drain the KGB, which was the only about 1/2 full at this point. Took a LONGGGG set just trying to build up the endurance. when the boat came back around to pick me up... i could hear the ballast pump running still. I was like ffff my impeller's shot. Might as well go buy a whole new set...

So, go to the dealer, pick up a new set of impellers. pulled out the old yellow ones... they're all in perfect shape. After installing the green ones i notice the port sac is still beating the starboard sac. after the day is over, pull the sac out and realize the ballast line is kinked. Thinking about upgrading all the ballast hose in the boat to the fly high 1'' sutff. There anything better out there, or is that it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2011, 06:01 PM
tommcat tommcat is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Boat: 97 Prostar 205 LT1
Location: springfield,MA
Posts: 1,342
the flyhigh hose is supposed to be the exact same hose that MC uses from the factory so i dont think that would really be any kind of an upgrade.
look at some of the options from wakemakers, maybe it's better?
__________________
1997 Prostar 205, LT1 powerslot

I carry a gun because a cop is too heavy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2011, 07:19 PM
vision's Avatar
vision vision is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Boat: 2008 X Star, 2005 X2
Location: Cary NC, Lake Gaston
Posts: 1,071
The MC hose, at least in my 2008, is the same as the hose sold at Lowes/Home Depot for Jacuzzis. But they often only stock it in white. Exceptionally hard to kink.
__________________
2008 X star, 2005 X2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-08-2011, 08:36 AM
76S&S's Avatar
76S&S 76S&S is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Boat: 2002 X Star
Location: At the lake or on the way to the lake!
Posts: 1,830
My 02 has heater hose for the ballast lines............it's crap as a ballast line.
__________________
Being on the water is best, but when I'm not on the water I'm on TT.

2002 X Star
Sold - 76 S&S
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-08-2011, 08:51 AM
CantRepeat's Avatar
CantRepeat CantRepeat is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Boat: 06 X30
Location: Roll Tide!!
Posts: 8,504
My 06 has the same 1" hose that wakemakers.com sells. It has a white inner coil in it.
__________________
Tim
Gone, surfing.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-08-2011, 10:00 AM
willyt's Avatar
willyt willyt is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: May 2009
Boat: ER xstar
Location: high in the middle and round on both ends
Posts: 1,877
so..wakemakers and fly high have the same stuff? sounds like that's my best bet.

Second question:
I have 3/4" line. I'm obviously going 1" this time around, but had anyone thats made the jump noticed any improvment in fill times?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-08-2011, 11:03 AM
MattsCraft's Avatar
MattsCraft MattsCraft is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: May 2008
Boat: 2013 X25 - 6.2 Ilmor Baby
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,084
Will - Wakmakers has the same stuff as stock MC in black. It is just Spa hose you can get at Home Depot or Lowes, but I have only found it in White, not sure that matters to you. Double check though, I think you have check valves and your pump mounts, if you go to 1" you will need 3/4" to 1" step up fittings.

I have about 5' of black and 5' of white if you want to cut a piece to try it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-11-2011, 11:35 AM
X-1Texas X-1Texas is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Boat: Mastercraft, X-1, 2007
Location: DFW
Posts: 118
When I got my boat I switched out the 250lb hard tanks for 400lb bags and put in 1" hose from wakemakers. Didn't do anything with ballast timers and my bags fill all the way up without the timer shutting off the pumps. I think 1" hose makes a difference.

I'm thinking of going up to 750's this winter so I might have to do something with the timer.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-11-2011, 11:46 AM
X-1Texas X-1Texas is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Boat: Mastercraft, X-1, 2007
Location: DFW
Posts: 118
All you need to go up to 1" hose is remove the 3/4" hose barb from the outlet side of the pump and slide the 1" hose directly on the pump. Last time I checked Home Depot it was cheaper to get it from Wakemakers. It's only $1.49/foot at wakemakers.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:37 PM.