Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Electrical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-31-2005, 08:31 PM
NatesGr8's Avatar
NatesGr8 NatesGr8 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Boat: 05 X-45
Location: CT
Posts: 466
Amp Installation

I just finished installing an amp for my tower speakers. Ran 4 gauge from battery up for the power. And 4 gauge from a grounding terminal down the center to one of the alternator bracket bolts. Just curious what you other guys with amps have done to ground your system.

Nate
__________________
Guns don't kill people, I kill people
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-31-2005, 09:01 PM
peason's Avatar
peason peason is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Boat: MC, 209, 2002, 310 HP
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,087
I grounded it right to the battery. I think this is what a lot of others have done too.
Search the stereo install threads.
The harness I bought from my dealer was all set up to ground to the battery.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-31-2005, 09:14 PM
BriEOD's Avatar
BriEOD BriEOD is offline
MC Platinum
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Boat: 2000 MasterCraft ProStar 205 DD
Location: Severn River, MD
Posts: 9,027
Grounded it to the battery.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-31-2005, 10:44 PM
SteveO's Avatar
SteveO SteveO is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Boat: 2007 X2 Switch Blue and White
Location: Music City
Posts: 1,355
I too am grounded to the battery.
__________________
Current Boat: 2007 Blue and White X2 Switch
Previous Boat: 2002 White and Yellow 209
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-31-2005, 11:15 PM
redmike's Avatar
redmike redmike is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2005
Boat: 1988 prostar 190
Location: san diego baby!!
Posts: 410
ground to battery, and make sure you ran the ground away from your rca cables unless you like motor noise....
__________________
if god had meant for man to swim he wouldn't have made MC!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-01-2005, 01:08 PM
NatesGr8's Avatar
NatesGr8 NatesGr8 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Boat: 05 X-45
Location: CT
Posts: 466
so all the way back to the battery huh. i'll leave it as i have it grounded now. if there are any problems i will go to the battery. thanks for the input. and dont worry about my engine noise, i have some nicely shielded cables.

nate
__________________
Guns don't kill people, I kill people
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-01-2005, 04:03 PM
jake's Avatar
jake jake is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Boat: 93' Prostar 190
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 374
Send a message via Yahoo to jake
Mine is grounded to the engine block. Same place the primary battery ground connects. Figure that's the same thing as running the ground all the way back to the battery, since my ground wire basically connects to the primary ground, which is connected to the battery.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-03-2005, 11:34 AM
OhioProstar OhioProstar is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Boat: 1995 PS190
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 980
Send a message via AIM to OhioProstar
Jake is right. No need to go to the battery if you can get a clean ground at the engine bracket.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:35 AM.