Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Ballast

Old 08-08-2011, 04:19 PM
TT Newbie

Boat: 2011 Mastercraft X-15, Ilmor 5.7
Exclamation 2011 X-15 Ballast Questions

I just purchased a 2011 x15 and I am new to the whole ballast procedure so if someone could help me out that would be greatly appreciated!

When filling/emptying the ballast, it says the engine must be at 1500 rpm... can you be standing still (neutral with engine revving at 1500 rpm) or do you have to be moving?

Does the ballast tank empty and fill from the same hole on the bottom of the boat?

The owner’s manual says that a red light on top of ballast toggle switches should blink 6 times when tank is full… this doesn’t seem to be working... so should I watch the overflow hole on the side of the boat to see when tank is full?

Is there an automatic shut-off mechanism when emptying the ballast tanks?

Thanks alot!
Old 08-08-2011, 05:10 PM
TT Enthusiast

Boat: 2010 Mastercraft X-15
I rev to 1500rpm in neutral when filling and just drive forward when emptying. I don't use the BIG to control my ballast. I just use the switches manually. When they over flow out the sides I turn them off. They are on timers though if you forget to turn them off.
Old 08-08-2011, 08:17 PM
TT Regular

Boat: 2010 X-15
I do the same. watch for water coming out the sides. Listen for pumps when empty.
Old 08-08-2011, 09:15 PM
TT Enthusiast

Boat: 2011 X-15
I just watch the water coming out on my x15, none of the lights work on my ballast switches.
Old 08-10-2011, 04:23 PM
TT Regular

Boat: 2011 X-15