Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Electrical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-17-2010, 07:22 PM
mcboatfan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Airmar Speedometer Problems

I have a 2007 Prostar 197 with perfect pass and the oem mastercraft speedometer. About 2 weeks ago both of my speedo's quit working when i was on the local lake. I thought the Airmar sensor went bad, so i ordered one from the dealer. That did not help any. Then i thought the Deutsch plug was not making a good connection (it had a little corrosion in it), so i cut it out and put butt connectors in it's place. Still no help.

Does anyone have any suggestions for me? Does anyone have a wiring diagram? Should there be 12 volts on the hot wire coming to the plug?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-17-2010, 08:04 PM
mcboatfan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
more info on the problem

i just did the gauge self test. the mc speedo did the sweep as it should have in the test. the pp unit did not move. It is digital and i figure this is what it should do.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-18-2010, 08:18 PM
CoyB CoyB is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Boat: 04 X2
Location: south
Posts: 29
i am having the same problem... please someone give my my perfect pass back!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-08-2010, 10:19 AM
mcboatfan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
i ended up taking my boat to the local dealer. he said there was a blown fuse behind the kick panel under the dash. He thinks i got some wires backwards when i was putting the new sensor in, but it quit working while i was using it. i think some moisture got in the deutsch connector and shorted the + to the - blowing the fuse. Hope you can fix yours without having to do what i did.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-23-2011, 02:53 AM
sebita's Avatar
sebita sebita is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Boat: mc prostar 197, 2007
Location: europe
Posts: 22
Hi, I am having the same problem and cannot find the fuse under the dash...Opened the DBW black box but there is no fuse in it.
Going bananas here....HELPPPP
Seb
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-23-2011, 02:59 AM
sebita's Avatar
sebita sebita is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Boat: mc prostar 197, 2007
Location: europe
Posts: 22
Also if the fuse was blown wouldn't the whole unit blank and not just show 0 mph?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:05 PM.