Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Electrical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2015, 10:47 AM
Shaun R Shaun R is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Boat: 1995 Prostar 190 LT1/Powerslot
Location: Texas
Posts: 115
Prostar engine ground

Having starter issues and not sure if suspect ground cable is the problem. Previous owner did a hack job on it and had the cable frayed and pinched between a bolt on the alternator bracket. Is this considered the OEM location or should it be someplace else?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-15-2015, 10:58 AM
Table Rocker's Avatar
Table Rocker Table Rocker is online now
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Boat: '96 ProStar 205, Sammy Duvall, LT-1
Location: Fayetteville, Arkansas
Posts: 1,730
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaun R View Post
Having starter issues and not sure if suspect ground cable is the problem. Previous owner did a hack job on it and had the cable frayed and pinched between a bolt on the alternator bracket. Is this considered the OEM location or should it be someplace else?
On my '96 LT-1, the ground is on a bolt on the alternator bracket. I would guess you just need a new cable to that location.
__________________
'96 ProStar 205 SD LT-1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2015, 11:00 AM
mikeg205's Avatar
mikeg205 mikeg205 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Boat: 1995 Pro Star 205 5.7 Liter
Location: Plainfield - Joliet, IL
Posts: 12,429
Send a message via Skype™ to mikeg205
location should be on back of engine on 5.7 and LT-1 and you should have a solid soldered connection on all ends. On the 5.7 the ground bolt is right by the inline fuel pump. Frayed connection will cause resistance and things will behave inconsistently. www.genuinedealz.com can make some new cables for you - or you can get some lugs and shrink tubing for the ends on amazon, Harbour Freight - or you local auto parts store..
__________________
...A bad day water skiing still beats a good day at work...1995 Pro Star 205....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-15-2015, 11:08 AM
Shaun R Shaun R is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Boat: 1995 Prostar 190 LT1/Powerslot
Location: Texas
Posts: 115
So it looks like he had the cable in the right spot but he broke off the connector and just made it work. I found one that fit and it helped with starting issues, but i still get the click and wait when trying to turn it over. Two brand new batteries and over 1000cca's, so that is not the issue. I have some 4 gauge around here and can make a new one up, probably for the best because who knows if there is any damage inside the cable. Just wanted to confirm before I started cutting. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-15-2015, 11:17 AM
mikeg205's Avatar
mikeg205 mikeg205 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Boat: 1995 Pro Star 205 5.7 Liter
Location: Plainfield - Joliet, IL
Posts: 12,429
Send a message via Skype™ to mikeg205
that ground wire should be 2 awg minimum.
__________________
...A bad day water skiing still beats a good day at work...1995 Pro Star 205....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-15-2015, 11:18 AM
Table Rocker's Avatar
Table Rocker Table Rocker is online now
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Boat: '96 ProStar 205, Sammy Duvall, LT-1
Location: Fayetteville, Arkansas
Posts: 1,730
If the new cables don't improve it, you might have a tired starter. If your field coils wear through their insulation and ground to the starter case, all the amps don't do much good.
__________________
'96 ProStar 205 SD LT-1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-15-2015, 11:37 AM
Shaun R Shaun R is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Boat: 1995 Prostar 190 LT1/Powerslot
Location: Texas
Posts: 115
Once the starter engages, it turns hard. I plan on load testing it later today to see if that's the issue, but the cable has to be replaced as it's not up to my standards. Website above is cheaper than I thought and will just order one though them. Guessing four feet should be enough.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-15-2015, 12:17 PM
Table Rocker's Avatar
Table Rocker Table Rocker is online now
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Boat: '96 ProStar 205, Sammy Duvall, LT-1
Location: Fayetteville, Arkansas
Posts: 1,730
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaun R View Post
Once the starter engages, it turns hard. I plan on load testing it later today to see if that's the issue, but the cable has to be replaced as it's not up to my standards. Website above is cheaper than I thought and will just order one though them. Guessing four feet should be enough.
I would pull the old one out and measure before I ordered the new one. I think four might be a little short.
__________________
'96 ProStar 205 SD LT-1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-15-2015, 12:21 PM
Shaun R Shaun R is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Boat: 1995 Prostar 190 LT1/Powerslot
Location: Texas
Posts: 115
I had dreams of connecting the two cables with a zip tie and pulling the old out and the new in place. May be best to order five and adjust if needed.

Last edited by Shaun R; 03-15-2015 at 01:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-15-2015, 02:03 PM
mikeg205's Avatar
mikeg205 mikeg205 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Boat: 1995 Pro Star 205 5.7 Liter
Location: Plainfield - Joliet, IL
Posts: 12,429
Send a message via Skype™ to mikeg205
wires are pretty stiff - should travel well thru the corrugated wire cover.
__________________
...A bad day water skiing still beats a good day at work...1995 Pro Star 205....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:22 PM.