Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Storage / Winterization

Old 10-05-2010, 07:01 PM
TT Newbie

Boat: Mastercraft X-30, 2003, LQ9
Need advise LQ9 winterize

I'm new to the Mastercraft X30 2003 LQ9. I want some advise on winterizing this closed system. It can't be very difficult. Can this forum give me some insite on the process. The engine is an LQ9, I just need some assistance.
Old 10-05-2010, 07:34 PM
MC Fanatic

Boat: 04 TT 197
Super easy, this is what i do....

Remove airfilter from the front of the engine. Start while still in the water and spray fogging oil in while revving the motor a bit. Replace airfilter.
Remove two drain bolts from the heat exchanger, undo the hose coupler that links the two exhaust manifolds, remove hose from the exit side of the raw water pump and turn the motor over a few times without saftey lanyard attached to get the water out...done. If you have a heater you leave it because it is full of antifreeze not water.
Remove bottom drain and put in ziplock bag along with the heat exchanger bolts. Ziptie all to steering wheel. Write a list of what you did on the ziplock bag and the date.

Somepeople change the oil and tranny fluid but I do that in the spring

Ballasts?..you are on your own as I am a ski guy (197).

Done....

04 197 TT LQ9 stargazer w/Z-Box
PB 1@35off
Previous...
96 Prostar 205 Lt1
93 Prostar 205 HO
81 Leaves and stripes(Can. edition)

Last edited by rhsprostar; 10-05-2010 at 07:38 PM.
Old 10-05-2010, 07:47 PM
MC Fanatic

Oh I also check the strength of the antifreeze with a special tester for proplyen glycol.
Bought it at an autoparts store for about $20. Not the same as a regular antifreeze tester!
It has always been perfect but you have to check for peace of mind...
The test takes about 30 seconds.

PB 1@35off
Previous...
96 Prostar 205 Lt1
93 Prostar 205 HO
Old 10-05-2010, 08:07 PM
TT Enthusiast