Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Engine / Drive Train

Old 07-20-2010, 04:56 PM
TT Newbie

Boat: Prostar, 190, 1994, 350,
no fuel to fuel pump

I have a 1994 Mastercraft 190 with 350. with throttle body and injectors. Last weekend I replaced the water/gas canister filter. and since, haven't been able to get any fuel coming thru to the engine. on the engine side of fuel pump, it's spitting air when I turn on the engine and it cycles up. but never gets fuel. tried cycling it thru many times. and never any fuel. in fact, not getting fuel into the water/gas canister which would be the first point it should appear. I did spin it back off and filled with gas. but suspect I should have done this in the first place. now I think I have a line full of air and not sure how to fix the problem.?? any thoughts?
Old 07-20-2010, 05:01 PM
TT Regular

Boat: 1995 prostar 190 lt1 powerslot
those canister filters have an inlet and outlet. is it possible you have it in backwards?
Old 07-20-2010, 05:39 PM
MC Maniac

Boat: 95 PS 190 EFI
Send a message via AIM to jimmer2880
Some of the fuel tanks have an anti-siphon ball on the hose, where it leaves the tank. I've heard of these causing problems when doing fuel work. You may want to check there.

Also - some canisters have a bleeder button/screw on the bottom. Have you tried that?
"I kept a crabgrass free lawn"
It's time to SKI.
Old 07-20-2010, 05:40 PM
MC Maniac

Boat: 95 PS 190 EFI
Send a message via AIM to jimmer2880
Also, To get fuel from your canister to the pump, put some gas into an empty, clean mustard bottle. Take off your spark arrestor and pour a little gas directly down the carb. You will need to run it like this for a little while, until the fuel makes its way to the pump.
"I kept a crabgrass free lawn"
It's time to SKI.
Old 07-20-2010, 07:05 PM
TT Newbie

thanks for ideas