Go Back   TeamTalk > General MasterCraft Topics > General Discussion

Old 06-27-2005, 08:18 PM
MC Fanatic

Boat: X7, MCX
Etiquette and a new life on the water

I just moved onto a lake, and just bought my new X7 (which I love!!!), and while snooping around ran across a few etiquette and wakeboard/ski issues and thought I would start a new thread...ask a few questions...and maybe shed some light on things from a newbies perspective.

First, I am in my mid thirties, married with kids, yadayada. Your average joe I guess.

Up until this year, I had never owned a boat or been behind one on anything...a complete newbie in every sense.

First, a few questions:

1. Does anyone have any advice on how to tactfully let people know that power turns and running up on skiers/boarders is simply not allowed on your boat? Its really a tough situation, the neighbors that have been boating on the lake for many years take a turn driving your boat pulling you, and they make every mistake imaginable when it comes to common courtesy and safety...but it would be pretty arrogant to have an admitted newbie counsel them on it. I was thinking of having a sticker made that has a few of the rules...what do you guys do. I want to do it right, but see that most simply do not care. Thoughts?

2. How often do you guys check your fluids....about every how many hours?

3. do you really need to run the blower every time? I notice than most people only do the first time they start it up in the morning...then not after. Nothing legal...whats the real deal?

OK...now on the other issue. I didn't know a dang thing about any of it. I went out and bought it all right away. I bought skies, a wakeboard, a wakeskate, kneeboard, airchair, and several tubes.