Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Engine / Drive Train

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2005, 03:11 PM
waterboy Seattle
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Prostar fuel sensor

I have a 97' Prostar 190. I think my fuel sensor is bad, it was sticking last year and this year it simply reads empty when the tank is full.

The dealer wants close to 300 bills (including parts) to change it out. Is it something that's reasonable for me to do? I'm reasonably mechanical.

Any tips?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-03-2005, 03:20 PM
AR Footer's Avatar
AR Footer AR Footer is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Boat: 1985 MasterCraft S & S 351 w/powerslot
Location: South
Posts: 151
Mine was very easy to change out but my boat is an 85 model. Unless they have made some huge changes it shouldn't be too difficult. You can get the parts pretty reasonable from www.skidim.com. I changed mine out in about an hour.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-03-2005, 03:41 PM
east tx skier's Avatar
east tx skier east tx skier is offline
MC Hero
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Boat: 1998 Ski Nautique
Location: End of my rope.
Posts: 25,221
DIM didn't have the sending unit for my boat when I got it swapepd last year. From MC, it ran about $75. If you're mechanical, it's probably something you can do. From what I've read, your old unit might be salvageable.

Welcome.
__________________
Previous: 1993 Prostar 205

Red 1998 Closed Bow Ski Boat, Ford 351, 310 hp, Acme 4 blade, Perfect Pass SG.

FAQ


Tyler Ski Club


To me, this forum is about love of inboard boats. It is about the sharing of information and, on a good day, some humor. It is not about post count, brand of boat, or any other superfluous labels that lend themselves to a false sense of superiority. Please, respect one another, try to pass on accurate information, and keep your eye on the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-03-2005, 03:49 PM
kpickett's Avatar
kpickett kpickett is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Boat: 1994 Prostar 190 - LT1
Location: Northern California
Posts: 371
I just did this two weeks ago on my '94 Prostar 190. It's pretty easy. You have to undo the brackets to the fuel tank and just slide it out. Throw away the old sender. I tried all the repair ideas, and they worked pretty well, but I ended up having to pull my tank three times before I finally just did it right and bought the new solid state sender from my dealer for $62. The only problem I had was with the old and new wiring harnesses not quite working together. I solved it by splicing the new sender to the old wiring harness.

Check out this thread for JimN's instructions on how to calibrate. It works perfectly. I couldn't be happier

http://www.tmcowners.com/teamtalk/sh...ht=fuel+sender

Kyle
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-03-2005, 03:59 PM
waterboy Seattle
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool Thanks for the help.

I think I'll give it a try. I'll have to go take a closer look at it. I thought my tank went below the floor so it wouldn't slide out, but I did not look at it that carefully.

Oh, and the tank is pretty full so I'll just have to ski all the gas off, darn.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:11 PM.