Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Electrical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2007, 09:55 AM
learjet2230's Avatar
learjet2230 learjet2230 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Boat: 1988 Mastecraft Prostar 190, Powerslot, 351 Windsor
Location: Granbury, TX
Posts: 456
Electrical "bug"

Hey all,
New to this website. Just moved to Granbury, TX and "aquired" and 88' PS190. Been working on it for the last two mnths now after an overheat problem. Anyway, I have got some pretty good mechanical apptitude, but there are a few things throwing me for a loop. I have an electrical gremlin that I haven't really sunk my teeth into yet but I figure I would get some ideas first. What I really would like to find is an entire electrical schematic for the boat. I have looked here and have only come across the engine schematic. My problem is when I turn on the blower, all the guages jump. Oil pressure gauge jumps about 10 psi, and so does the eng. temp guage. I suspect a possible bad ground or something grounded in the wrong place. Looking for some suggestions and thoughts.

Nik
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-29-2007, 10:07 AM
tex's Avatar
tex tex is offline
MC Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Boat: 2002 Prostar 197 w/tower
Location: Cowtown
Posts: 7,830
Learjet-Welcome-Where are you at in Granbury? Are you on the water? We need more North Texans here?
__________________
2002 Blue Prostar 197, 0 Flex Tower, Perfect Pass, and The Preditor-ADHD Skier

I'm pursuing my lifelong quest for the perfect, the absolutely driest martini to be found in this or any other world. And I think I may have hit upon the perfect formula :
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-29-2007, 10:13 AM
learjet2230's Avatar
learjet2230 learjet2230 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Boat: 1988 Mastecraft Prostar 190, Powerslot, 351 Windsor
Location: Granbury, TX
Posts: 456
Well heck yea I'm on the water. I'm just up river of the 51 bridge, in what is termed "Stroud Creek". Basically across from Nettie Baccus elementary in the Andrews addition. Familiar?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-29-2007, 10:17 AM
WTRSK1R's Avatar
WTRSK1R WTRSK1R is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Boat: 2004 MasterCraft ProStar 197
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 863
Learjet, welcome. When all the gauges jump, does the voltmeter drop as well? The power to the gauges (and the ignition) runs through the kill switch mounted just below the throttle. Over time, these switches are known for becoming resistive or just plain open. If the boat still runs, your is definately not open, but it may be impacting the amount of voltage available to the instruments. Another issue on the older boats is it seems the main harness is only supplied with a 10 gauge wire which just did not seem large enough on my '92. When I cranked up the music (standard stereo, no power amp or sub-woofer) I could actually watch the volt meter bounce to the base of the music. I checked the voltage at the battery, and it was almost 1.5 volts higher at the battery then at the dash. That is a bit excessive for a 15 foot run. IMHO

Good Luck.
__________________
A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worthwhile



2004 Prostar 197 - Red on White

350 TBI, Perfect Pass, Heater, Shower and a whole lot of fun!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-29-2007, 10:29 AM
learjet2230's Avatar
learjet2230 learjet2230 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Boat: 1988 Mastecraft Prostar 190, Powerslot, 351 Windsor
Location: Granbury, TX
Posts: 456
Now that you mention it I think the volt guage does drop a volt or so. So I think you are on to something about a resistance build up somewhere under the dash. I can eliminate the wiring I guess by running a jumper wire and bypassing the 12v input to the kill switch and working my way upstream. Just not looking forward to working under there. Such a pain to access. Plus it is cold down in the boat house!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-29-2007, 11:08 AM
tex's Avatar
tex tex is offline
MC Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Boat: 2002 Prostar 197 w/tower
Location: Cowtown
Posts: 7,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by learjet2230
Well heck yea I'm on the water. I'm just up river of the 51 bridge, in what is termed "Stroud Creek". Basically across from Nettie Baccus elementary in the Andrews addition. Familiar?
No, but we need to try and hook up this summer!
__________________
2002 Blue Prostar 197, 0 Flex Tower, Perfect Pass, and The Preditor-ADHD Skier

I'm pursuing my lifelong quest for the perfect, the absolutely driest martini to be found in this or any other world. And I think I may have hit upon the perfect formula :
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-29-2007, 11:11 AM
learjet2230's Avatar
learjet2230 learjet2230 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Boat: 1988 Mastecraft Prostar 190, Powerslot, 351 Windsor
Location: Granbury, TX
Posts: 456
Roger that! If you have ever been to Granbury coming from Weatherford, if you cross the bridge, I live to the right!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-29-2007, 01:08 PM
tph's Avatar
tph tph is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Boat: '83 Metalflake Blue on Grey S&S Powerslot, 351W
Posts: 1,131
Quote:
Originally Posted by learjet2230
Hey all,
New to this website. Just moved to Granbury, TX and "aquired" and 88' PS190. Been working on it for the last two mnths now after an overheat problem. Anyway, I have got some pretty good mechanical apptitude, but there are a few things throwing me for a loop. I have an electrical gremlin that I haven't really sunk my teeth into yet but I figure I would get some ideas first. What I really would like to find is an entire electrical schematic for the boat. I have looked here and have only come across the engine schematic. My problem is when I turn on the blower, all the guages jump. Oil pressure gauge jumps about 10 psi, and so does the eng. temp guage. I suspect a possible bad ground or something grounded in the wrong place. Looking for some suggestions and thoughts.

Nik
My '89 does the exact same thing. It has a new kill switch so I don't think that's the problem. I've always suspected the ground. I'll be watching this thread.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-29-2007, 05:01 PM
learjet2230's Avatar
learjet2230 learjet2230 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Boat: 1988 Mastecraft Prostar 190, Powerslot, 351 Windsor
Location: Granbury, TX
Posts: 456
As soon as I get a warm day I plan to get my meter out and start ringing wires.
__________________
1988 PS190 Powerslot, INDMAR 351W, Edelbrock Intake, MSD Ignition,
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-29-2007, 09:11 PM
BrianS BrianS is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Boat: '08 X14 & '93 Prostar 190
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 114
Some ideas

I've had similar problems with my '93 Prostar. Mine was a combination of both the kill switch and a bad ground. I found the bad ground first, it was on the back of the engine block under a plastic cover. The main ground wire is connected to the block there, mine was quite corroded.

This still didn't fully solve my problem. I finally tested the kill switch and found that I was loosing 1-2 volts at the kill switch.

Hope that helps.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:28 AM.