Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > General / Other

Old 08-05-2004, 07:29 PM
MTskier19

'85 Skier Pylon

Hello all, I am new to this so, please bear with me.

We have had an 85 Skier for about ten years, and I have a question. The Pylon on our boat flexes when a skier crosses the wake. Is this normal? I can't remember this always happening, but I do remember trying to tighten the U-bolts underneath. (they were very tight already) I have skied behind lots of Mastercrafts and some flexed and some didn't. Is ours worn out, and can I get a new one?

Thanks for your time.
Mike

We don't spend too much time on the beach, in MT, your beer freezes 8 months of the year!
Old 08-05-2004, 07:39 PM
TT Enthusiast

Boat: 94 205 prostar
take up the floor board around the pylon.check the bolts that secure the crossmember to the stringers.if these are stripped or loose they can be tapped out to the next size.
Old 08-06-2004, 08:20 AM
TT Enthusiast

Boat: MasterCraft, Maristar 210 openbow, 1990, 351W
I had to tighten my u-bolts on my pylon a couple of years ago. Much more of a noticeable flex with the extended wakeboard pylon. It scared the crap out of me at first, thought I was going to rip a hole in the bottom of the boat. They didnít seem to want to tighten, but finally did after I coaxed it with some elbow grease and used my spinach (PBR). Pylon will never wear out, just bend or break (very doubtful that this is possible under practical terms).
Old 08-06-2004, 12:15 PM
MC Maniac

Boat: 95 PS 190 EFI
Send a message via AIM to jimmer2880
Or..... if your boat has wooden stringers, come completely out of the boat. The reason why I don't own an 84 supra Comp anymore is because each time I cut, the pilon moved about 2-3 inches. 2 owners after me, it came out. Along with the rudder a couple of weeks after that.
"I kept a crabgrass free lawn"
It's time to SKI.
Old 08-06-2004, 02:53 PM
MC Hero

Boat: 1998 Ski Nautique