Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Engine / Drive Train

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2005, 02:46 PM
Hunterb Hunterb is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Boat: 1990 Prostar 190 351
Location: Southwest Canada
Posts: 299
Choke question

HI Everyone,

I have a problem with the electric choke on my Holley 4160 carb. The element works fine and opens and closes the butterfly valve to restrict air flow as it should, but I am not getting any fast idle. The black plastic fast idle cam is there and the choke rod is under it as it should be, but it does not make contact with anything connnected to the throttle plates. There is a strangely shaped metal piece connected to the throttle shaft but there seems to be no way to have it come in contact with the fast idle cam at any throttle setting.

Can anyone describe or take a picture of what the set-up should look like with the electric choke?

Thanks for any info you may have.

Bruce
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2005, 02:50 PM
MarkP's Avatar
MarkP MarkP is offline
MC Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Boat: MasterCraft PS205 351 HO
Location: Cranberry PA(SW PA)
Posts: 6,949
Bruce


I dont know if this will help.

http://www.holley.com/HiOctn/TechSer.../Instruct.html
__________________


The wife calls me abrasive
The kids call me Daddy Sweetwater
But the ladies, they just call me El Guapo
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2005, 08:01 PM
Storm861triple Storm861triple is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Boat: 1992 Mastercraft Prostar 190
Location: Park City, UT
Posts: 514
Look at the pics on page 2 and 3.

Tell us how what you see there looks compared to yours.

http://www.holley.com/TechDocs/Instr...ts/745-224.pdf
__________________
Thomas Kendrick
'92 PS 190
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-31-2005, 01:42 PM
Hunterb Hunterb is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Boat: 1990 Prostar 190 351
Location: Southwest Canada
Posts: 299
AHA !

I knew something had to be missing. What I am missing is the part illustrated directly above figure #3 on page two. I don't have that or the spring above it. I only have the small part that is the shown at the top. That is definitely the problem.

Thanks so much for posting that. I will have to find a Holley dealer in the area to see if I can get that part, without buying the whole choke kit I hope.

As a side note, while I was fiddling with the motor this weekend I had the starter solenoid decide to stick in the closed position so I had the motor running and the starter still turning as well. Not good. Luckily the battery is exposed right now since I don't have a spotter seat so I managed to rip off a cable and stop it. I would have preferred to have the silly thing fail in the open position but I guess it wouldn't have been as exciting.

Thanks again for the choke info ! I will follow up if and when I can find the parts I need.

Bruce
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-31-2005, 01:48 PM
André's Avatar
André André is offline
MC Maniac
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Boat: Prostar 190 1994
Location: Near Sherbrooke,Québec,Canada
Posts: 4,428
Must have make a nice sound!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2005, 03:14 PM
Storm861triple Storm861triple is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Boat: 1992 Mastercraft Prostar 190
Location: Park City, UT
Posts: 514
Glad those pics helped.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunterb
...the starter solenoid decide to stick in the closed position so I had the motor running and the starter still turning as well. Not good.
That's a POS Ford Starter solinoid for you.
__________________
Thomas Kendrick
'92 PS 190
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-31-2005, 05:29 PM
Hunterb Hunterb is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Boat: 1990 Prostar 190 351
Location: Southwest Canada
Posts: 299
yeah, I kind of wonder about some of Ford's 'better ideas'. While I'm messing with the electrical stuff do you know if I should change my plug gap or heat range when upgrading to an electronic distributor?

Thanks

Bruce
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-01-2005, 03:26 PM
Storm861triple Storm861triple is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Boat: 1992 Mastercraft Prostar 190
Location: Park City, UT
Posts: 514
No need to change heat range, or the gap, unless you are changing the coil, then you can go up in gap.

-Tom
__________________
Thomas Kendrick
'92 PS 190
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-02-2005, 03:05 PM
Hunterb Hunterb is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Boat: 1990 Prostar 190 351
Location: Southwest Canada
Posts: 299
I have changed to a 12 volt high output coil so I will increase the gap on the plugs. How much is recommended?

I talked with Holley the other day and they are sending the parts I need so I can have a fast idle setting on the choke. They said they don't normally recommend a fast idle on marine applications, which I thought was strange. They are sending the parts free of charge anyway so that's a bonus.

Thanks for the input.

Bruce
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-02-2005, 05:59 PM
Storm861triple Storm861triple is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Boat: 1992 Mastercraft Prostar 190
Location: Park City, UT
Posts: 514
I would recomend .045" on the plugs w/a high output coil.

Holley probably doesn't recommend the high idle because the trans isn't going to like being shifted at 1500+ RPM's. If you wait for it to kick down though, I don't see a problem w/using it.

-Tom
__________________
Thomas Kendrick
'92 PS 190
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:04 AM.