Go Back   TeamTalk > General MasterCraft Topics > Watersports > Waterskiing & Barefooting

Old 08-03-2004, 10:03 PM
TT Enthusiast

Boat: 09 214 Prostar
Clincher Gloves

Anbody use these gloves?
Clincher Gloves
Glovers2

Just got these, and going to give them a try in about week.
Waiting for doctor's blessing to start skiing again.
Old 08-04-2004, 07:14 AM
MC Fanatic

Boat: '94 PS205 LT1
Clinchers

Sully,
We use them and love them. Huge difference in endurance. My only recent problem is that I have recently started to drop one hand to turn and grabbing the rope with them is a bit harder, seems like one more thing to worry about. I bought a regular pair of gloves and am trying to wean myself over to them, there is a HUGE difference. The clinchers really do a good job of transferring the load to the wrist/arm.
But for the wife & others who aren't as aggressive, they are awesome!
Old 08-04-2004, 10:13 AM
TT Regular

Boat: 1999 Sammy Duvall 190 - LT1
I've been using them for about 10 years - Gone through 6-8 pairs. Awesome, but they take a little getting use to. I mostly like them for Footn' and Slalom, but even use them for Hydrofoil and Boarding. Like Ben mentioned, they are sometimes a little awkward when removing your hands for 360s and such, but you can get used to them. They sure extend the runs - as long as the rest of your body can keep up.
Old 08-04-2004, 11:45 AM
MC Hero

Boat: 1998 Ski Nautique
My father in law absolutely loves these gloves. They're good for endurance in my opinion. But apart from his glowing reviews, and the ones above, I'll throw this on the fire ...

1. Like Ben said, if you let go, it's hard to grab the handle again.
2. You need to put them on when the only thing you have left to grab is the handle.
3. It was hard for me (nearly impossible) to hold the rope in your fingertips with these gloves.