Go Back   TeamTalk > Off Topic > Off Topic Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-23-2016, 12:38 PM
JohnE's Avatar
JohnE JohnE is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Boat: 40th Anniversary X14
Location: Boston 'burbs
Posts: 10,555
Any GM technicians out there?

Anyone here a GM technician? If so, can you (or anyone) offer some help?

I bought a GMC Sierra All Terrain X which comes from the factory with a roll bar/ light bar. The roll bar has the center high mount stop light so the factory cab mounted chmsl is disabled from the factory. I removed the roll bar and disconnected the wiring that went to it. Does anyone know how to get the original brake light to work?

The dealer I bought it from spent over an hour yesterday and couldn't figure it out. Then they called GM today and said they were no help, that they told the dealer that what he tried yesterday should do it. I'm going to bring it back next week and they are going to compare it with another truck to see what's different and try to fix it.

I figure someone here will know what the fix is.

Thanks,

John
__________________
40th Anniversaary X14

'97 Prostar 190 - LT-1 (For Sale)

Prior boats - 2009 X14, 2008 X14, 2005 197, 1988 Tristar 190, 1989 Prostar.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2016, 01:46 PM
jkski jkski is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Boat: 2008 40th Anniv. Prostar 197 MCX and Powerslot
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 1,997
I am not a tech but I have to ask the stupid question simply because I have made this mistake before on my own.
Is there a fuse that is either blown or not in place which feeds this which may have been pulled/disabled when they put the light bar on.
I would think that a dealer would check this first but again, I have made that mistake in the past myself.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-24-2016, 09:32 AM
Atver300 Atver300 is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Boat: 2001 prostar 209
Location: Southeast
Posts: 15
They will probably need to call the gm techline support Center and have them add a code to the bcm for your Vin number then flash it in with a tech 2. But finding what code that operates that light might no be so easy.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-26-2016, 01:06 PM
DHPRO's Avatar
DHPRO DHPRO is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Boat: 2014 Gen II X30 SS
Location: NorthEast
Posts: 348
performancetrucks.net - someone there will be able to answer. I'll bet you need to go into the PCM and change a setting.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-26-2016, 01:56 PM
moosehead's Avatar
moosehead moosehead is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: May 2015
Boat: 2015 X10 6.0L
Location: Mountain West
Posts: 1,384
^I have a similar '15 GMC Sierra, +1 to checking the fuses, they seem to blow easily when I've made any mods, or had a feisty trailer wiring plug connection. There are fuse boxes above both driver and passenger kickplates, and another under the hood, both Owner's Manual and fuse box covers show fuse maps. Good luck chasing it down.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:53 PM.