Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Storage / Winterization

Old 10-26-2006, 10:31 PM
TT Newbie

Boat: '03 MasterCraft 209, 350hp. MCX
Send a message via AIM to h2oskier
Critique my winterization

Winterization has been completed, I think. Here are the things that I did and would like to have more experienced people give me some feedback. Please let me know if I missed anything. This is my first time winterizing an inboard.

2003 Prostar 209 MCX engine. Boat stored in garage with a small heater for the dog.

-- Changed the oil and filter. Used Rotella 15-40 and a Wix filter.
-- Fogged engine. Removed air cleaner and sprayed fog in throttle body until smoke seen in exhaust.
-- Sprayed a little more in throttle body without engine running.
-- Drained the block and manifolds by doing the following.
-- Pulled the impeller cover off.
-- Pulled the water hose leading away from the impeller.
-- Pulled the fat water hose on the front driver side of motor.
-- Disconnected the hose connecting the manifolds in the rear of engine.
-- Found only one drain plug for the block. Passenger side of motor. The only thing on the driver side is the knock sensor.
-- I am going to drive around for 15-20 min in attempt to get more water out.

Have I missed anything?

Thanks in advance!

2003 209 MCX engine and a Chevy 2500HD to tow it with.
Old 10-26-2006, 10:34 PM
MC Devotee

Boat: Mastercraft X10 2004 5.7L
Send a message via AIM to dmayer84
Quote:
Originally Posted by h2oskier
Winterization has been completed, I think. Here are the things that I did and would like to have more experienced people give me some feedback. Please let me know if I missed anything. This is my first time winterizing an inboard.

2003 Prostar 209 MCX engine. Boat stored in garage with a small heater for the dog.

-- Changed the oil and filter. Used Rotella 15-40 and a Wix filter.
-- Fogged engine. Removed air cleaner and sprayed fog in throttle body until smoke seen in exhaust.