Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Upholstery

Old 08-30-2006, 10:34 AM
TT Newbie

Boat: 1988 Prostar 190
Talking Prostar upholstery

Aloha, I'm new to TT but I have an 88 PS190 that i bought last year. Over all the boat is in great shape, ...just rebuilt the engine myself due to a cracked block ....whole other %$#@ story. Now its running like a new boat and i'd like to replace the upholstery. The vinyl isn't terrible but its really all thats standing in the way of this boat looking and running like new. Has anyone out there done this ...really wondering about cost vs. benefit and who to go to for best results. I'm up near the DC area. Also ...If anyone has questions about a rebuild, i learned a ton rebuilding the engine ...upgraded the intake and switched to electronic ignition among others ...runs like a scalded dog!!
Old 08-30-2006, 12:53 PM
MC Hero

Boat: 1998 Ski Nautique
Welcome. The OEM upholstery color matched isn't available any more. Not sure if a dealer could still get the plain white for you. There's more information here, including contact information of person who can cut skins using OEM vinyl. If you're redoing the entire interior, a local shop can do great things. But if you're only diong a few pieces, the vinyl won't feel the same. Good luck.

Red 1998 Closed Bow Ski Boat, Ford 351, 310 hp, Acme 4 blade, Perfect Pass SG.

FAQ

Tyler Ski Club

To me, this forum is about love of inboard boats. It is about the sharing of information and, on a good day, some humor. It is not about post count, brand of boat, or any other superfluous labels that lend themselves to a false sense of superiority. Please, respect one another, try to pass on accurate information, and keep your eye on the ball.
Old 08-30-2006, 09:19 PM
MC Addict

Boat: nothing worth mentioning...