Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Trailers

Old 08-01-2006, 11:36 AM
TT Regular

Boat: 2001 205 prostar V
Trailer Brakes Dragging

I have a 2001 tandom axle mastercraft traier with dual disc surge brakes and they are draggin pretty bad. It looks like all 4 brakes are dragging. I pull it with a Dodge 1 ton so I cannot feel any differece will it under tow. I also don't tow it much so it felt like it always does but a little quicker in the gas gauge and notice the brake stink and brake dust all over my rims.

To get home I just spliced the reverse light/brake unlock wire to the common to disengage the brakes all together.

Is there a back off adjustment on the surge master cylinder? Or What do you think is wrong?

Thanks for your replys!!!
Old 08-01-2006, 07:23 PM
MC Master Poster

Boat: What ever floats your.....
Quote:
Originally Posted by QBhater
I have a 2001 tandom axle mastercraft traier with dual disc surge brakes and they are draggin pretty bad. It looks like all 4 brakes are dragging. I pull it with a Dodge 1 ton so I cannot feel any differece will it under tow. I also don't tow it much so it felt like it always does but a little quicker in the gas gauge and notice the brake stink and brake dust all over my rims.

To get home I just spliced the reverse light/brake unlock wire to the common to disengage the brakes all together.

Is there a back off adjustment on the surge master cylinder? Or What do you think is wrong?

Thanks for your replys!!!
I am going to suggest you contact your local dealer, or MYMC on this site.
Old 08-01-2006, 07:56 PM
TT Newbie

Boat: 2003 230 Maristat
Had the same thing on a 2002 tandem trailer. Finally caught fire(almost). Completely replaced all 4 calipers under warranty. Sight glasses buldge under heat stress. Bad deal all around.
Old 08-10-2006, 09:45 PM
TT Hero

Boat: 2005 X-STAR & 1993 Prostar 190 Limited