Go Back   TeamTalk > General MasterCraft Topics > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2006, 07:42 PM
ibaukcat ibaukcat is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Boat: 93 Mastercraft Pro Star 190
Location: midwest
Posts: 7
Gas Tank Sending Unit

Help!! My 93' Prostar 190's gas gauge has not been working this year. I bought a replacment sending unit from Discount Inboard Marine. Hooked it up no problem, but now the gauge reads full all the time.

What gives? Any advice.

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2006, 09:01 PM
airdrew99's Avatar
airdrew99 airdrew99 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Boat: 1991 Mastercraft Prostar 190 351W w/ powerslot
Location: Oxford, MS
Posts: 332
Did you swap the wire leads? Maybe the float is stuck all the way up.
__________________
Boatless 'til I get out of school.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2006, 09:07 PM
ibaukcat ibaukcat is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Boat: 93 Mastercraft Pro Star 190
Location: midwest
Posts: 7
the replacement unit is pre-wired, no way to mess it up. I talked w/ the company, they weren't real helpful. I'll have to try them tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-27-2006, 09:55 PM
Farmer Ted's Avatar
Farmer Ted Farmer Ted is offline
MC Maniac
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Boat: 1998 Prostar 190
Location: Deep in the heart of Taxes!
Posts: 3,321
did you have to cut it down to size to fit your tank?

it should have an Empty adjustment screw and a full adjustment screw
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-27-2006, 10:22 PM
atlfootr's Avatar
atlfootr atlfootr is offline
MC Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Boat: Barefoot 200 MasterCraft 1993 ProV200 Outboard
Location: Searching Forums
Posts: 6,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibaukcat
Help!! I bought a replacment sending unit from Discount Inboard Marine.
Hooked it up no problem, but now the gauge reads full all the time.
Any advice.
SEND IT BACK!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-27-2006, 10:31 PM
mlange mlange is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Boat: N/A
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 18
Assumning it is all wired in correctly, you can test it pretty easily by pulling it out of the tank, turning the key to on (without starting the engine) and moving the float up and down. If your gauge moves, you know it just got stuck. If not, you know it's bad.

Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:48 AM.